Skip to content

Ma, the meatloaf!…

January 18, 2010

Aka, why you should follow a recipe.

During cold winter days, I always remember this amazing stuffed meatloaf my neighbor used to make. With feta cheese and spinach rolled throughout the meat, it was a perfect winter time feast. Luckily enough, I had the recipe, and decided to embark on recreating one of my childhood favorites.

Yesterday I spent the day zipping around with some friends to various furniture stores, ending up in Ikea, which in all of its glory is the most exhausting experience anyone can have shopping for cheap Swedish furniture. When I got home I knew the meatloaf was something I could just “throw together”.

I rushed to my email and quickly read through the recipe. Ground turkey – check. Onion – check. Spinach – check. Feta – check. Parmasean and bacon? I didn’t have these, and I also thought it would be healthier to omit them. So, check!

My main fault in cooking is the “rushing” part. I always try to do things too quickly, and end up missing steps, forgetting ingrediants, or just not taking enough care and fudging it all up. So first mistake: I forgot to add the eggs, which according to Z would be the biding agent, and also bulk up the meat. Oops!

I mushed the meat together with onion, cilantro (I thought it was great that I had some fresh!), Worcesteshire sauce, salt and pepper. I then spread it out flat on a glass baking pan. I then layered in the middle some baby spinach and feta cheese.

Then, the trick is to roll the meat over the filling and cover it with tomato paste and bacon. I didn’t have any bacon and wanted to keep the fat content down anyway, so I figured it wasn’t necessary. Then you just stick it in the oven for an hour at 350*. I put some carrot fries in with it as well.

What came out was almost completly disasterous.

Through thorough dissection of the picture, you can see that some weird juices leaked out over the pan, which started burning along the edges. Also in the back left corner we had a feta explosion, which I tried dolloping over the tomato paste to cover up the thick, weird film it had formed during its time in the oven. I guess the reason the recipe calls to drape the bacon over the meatloaf is to keep this film from forming and to keep the insides all nice and moist. Missed that memo!

Lucky enough, Z said it wasn’t half bad, and acutally went back for 3rds! This wasn’t quite the childhood yumventure I was expecting (especially after I bragged to Z how good it was days before I actually made it) it was a lesson in following directions. From now on I will definitely write the recipe down and have it in the kitchen with me!

Here is the real recipe:

Meatloaf with Spinach and Feta

Mix together 1 lb ground turkey (or beef, or whatever you want!), 1/2 onion chopped finely, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup parmasean cheese, basil, cilantro, salt, pepper, and Worcester sauce to taste.

Oil a baking pan and spread the meat mixure out into a flat, rectangular shape.

Take 1/2 a bag of chopped baby spinach and 1/2 a block of crumbled feta cheese and, if you wish, 2 chopped hardboiled eggs or calamata olives, and spread them down the middle of the meat.

Fold the meat over the filling and close with some olive oil.

Spread 1 small can of tomato paste over the meatloaf, and cover with bacon.

Bake at 350* for 1 hour.

Happy MLK day everyone! Today is my day to relax, go to the gym, and maybe paint our bedroom :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 10:14 pm

    Well the recipe does certainly sound like a good idea. Bummer that it fell apart! I’m sure it’ll be perfect next time though. :)

  2. January 19, 2010 12:18 pm

    Cute blog! The filling sounds delicious! I’m sorry you had troubles with it though. My turkey meatloaf always bleeds some juices too, but it’s still pretty moist.

    I just read your about page and saw that you work at HMS – I’m actually a postdoc there, so let me know if you’d ever be interested in meeting for lunch sometime :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

