Skip to content

Spring Roast in 30 Minutes

March 17, 2010

Hi everyone! And Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

This is going to be a quick post, as I am running out the door to celebrate with some friends, decked out in green! When cooking for myself I am often in a rush. I like to have plans on nights I will be alone, but I also like to eat at home to save money instead of going out to dinner. It’s all about balance! Tonight when I got home from the gym I had an hour to cook, eat, shower, get ready, and head out to catch the T.

Today was the most beautiful day! It was at least 65*, the sun was shining, the skies were blue, and the fact that everyone was wearing green even brightened up the landscape. All day I craved one of my Mom’s springtime roasts. A roast dinner isn’t just for a cold winter night; throw in the right veggies and seasoning and it can be the perfect refreshing meal on a sunny day with a warm breeze.

One of my all-time favorite celebrity chefs, Jamie Oliver, has in one of his cookbooks, Cook with Jamie, a section on cooking an entire meal based around a chicken breast in a single dish. Season the chicken, and put it on some foil with whatever vegetables you want, throw it in the oven at 400* and let it cook for 30 minutes. And out comes an amazing roast for one! That is exactly what I did tonight.

Spring Roast Chicken Breast adapted from Cook with Jamie by Jamie Oliver

1 chicken breast

1/2 package frozen brussel sprouts

1 sweet potato, chopped into cubes.

Preheat the oven to 400*

Put a piece of foil in a pan and spray with cooking spray. In a bowl, season the chicken breasts, brussel sprouts, and sweet potato with some salt, pepper, garlic, and lemon juice. Toss with a little olive oil.

Place on the foil and put in the oven for 30 minutes. (Then shower, get dressed, and write a blog post!)

Make sure the chicken is not pink in the middle when you take it out.

Serve!

I have a new favorite flavor combination, and that is brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes!! They are amazing together! They both have a nuttiness to them, but while the potatoes are sweet the sprouts are fresh and light. I could have eaten an entire dish just of them, roasted together in all their glory! The chicken was good too, cooked perfectly and not dry (dry chicken is the worst). It may not be the most complex meal, but I think it has an elegance to it. Light, healthful, and roasted. Now that is my cup of tea!

One hour later, I’m out the door!

What are you doing for St. Patrick’s Day

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 6:51 pm

    Looks like a FABULOUS dinner- love brussels! Have fun out! We just ate our “Irish” dinner and now we’re relaxing :)

  2. March 17, 2010 8:49 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! I always seem to forget about simple ways to cook chicken and drive myself crazy thinking of something complicated. Foil-Veggies-Spices-Chicken – I must drill it in! I would love to see more of your favorite combinations too. And by the way I love brussels sprouts, but only within the past year or two and I’ve never tried them frozen because I wasn’t sure how they’d be – glad to see you like them!

    • March 19, 2010 9:33 am

      I have to remind myself too, and then I remember and have an amazing meal :) I love that this is so versatile!

  3. March 17, 2010 11:13 pm

    That’s what I said! Hee! I’m smiling with glee that you put brussels and sweet potatoes together. They are just the perfect couple!

  4. March 18, 2010 10:38 am

    I love this meal! I too just recently fell in love with the combination of sweet potatoes and brussels! Amazing.
    There’s nothing better than a tried and true quick meal. A real staple in my kitchen. I love Jamie Oliver and the way he views food/cooking.
    Hope you had a fantastic night with friends!
    Thanks for your continued kindness and support!

    • March 19, 2010 9:34 am

      Thank YOU for giving me such great feedback on my meals! Jamie Oliver definitely has great views about food and diet, I think he is really an inspiration.

  5. March 18, 2010 11:35 am

    that’s a pretty awesome meal for one.

  6. March 18, 2010 11:44 am

    I don’t eat chicken but I will say that this looks delicious! I especially love the roasted veggies, which make any meal fabulous!

  7. March 18, 2010 1:48 pm

    WOW, that couldn’t have been any easier! I’m so impressed that you were able to accomplish ALL of that in an hour. Go Sophie! I have to agree, brussels and sweet potato are amazing together! I should put the two in a baked good together – HAHAHA!

    • March 19, 2010 9:35 am

      I would love to see brussel sprout and sweet potato muffins, I bet they would be divine!

  8. March 18, 2010 5:31 pm

    Brussels and sweet potatoes go together like peanut butter and jelly. YUM!

  9. March 18, 2010 9:20 pm

    That really sounds good! I like that it is easy. Can you believe, I have never had brussel sprouts? But you made them look good; so I think I will give them a try. Thanks for the recipe!

    • March 19, 2010 9:35 am

      Brussel sprouts get such a bad rap, but they are amazing, one of my favorites! Roasting them really brings out the flavor, I recommend it for your first time :)

Trackbacks

  1. Seasonal Vegetable Soup - GourmetProvidores.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

