Skip to content

Je Ne Sais Quoi

March 23, 2010

Well, its back to rain here in Boston. I guess the nice weather just wasn’t meant to last! When the weather is damp and cold I would much rather spend my evening in a warm kitchen than out running errands until the sun goes down. When I know I have nothing to accomplish except for an excellent meal, I like to give myself a bit of a challenge.

I was inspired by Andrea’s chicken last night, which made me think about my previous stuffed chicken fiasco. It wasn’t bad, per say, but it was just…”eh”. I wanted to finally make chicken that was elegant, flavorful, and actually stuffed instead of half-stuffed-half-topped with some random ingredients. I feel that I have come along way since goat cheese stuffed chicken; it was time for some je ne sais quoi!

Yes, leave it to me to make a meal around one of the only French phrases I know (the other one being je suis perdu: I am lost). Directly the phrase came out of my mouth, one dish entered my brain: chicken cordon bleu.

The epitome of stuffed chicken, the classic dish of chicken breast stuffed with ham and Swiss cheese, breaded and baked to perfection. The name cordon bleu, a description shared also by a top notch culinary school, comes from King Henry III of France’s L’Ordre du Saint-Esprit, an order of knights created to fight Catholicism. The Order was symbolized by a blue cord worn around the neck (cordon bleu). As the knights became associated with honor and distinction, so the “blue ribbon” became associated with excellence. Chicken Cordon Blue is literally “Blue Ribbon Chicken”, and if I was going to try stuffed chicken again, I would only try the best. (Source)

Chicken Cordon Bleu

1 large chicken breast

3 slices of ham

1/2 cup Swiss cheese, grated

1 slice of bread (I used gluten free)

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1 egg white

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil (I used a Pam spray)

Preheat oven to 400* and spray an oven safe dish with Pam.

The first step is to turn your large chicken breast into cutlets. I managed to get three from my large chicken breast, but you may only get two. (The rest of the recipe will speak as if there are 3 pieces. If your chicken isn’t thick enough, just change the number to 2).

On a large cutting board, hold the breast flat side down with your hand (you cannot be afraid of raw chicken here! It doesn’t bite :) ). Run a sharp knife parallel to the cutting board and slowly cut through the breast, slicing it in thirds (depending on thickness). Do this slowly, you don’t want to accidentally dip too low or too high with your knife and cut your cutlet short. Go all the way to the end. You will end up with three separate pieces of chicken.

Now, the fun part. Take each piece one at a time, and place it between two pieces of cling film (saran wrap). Find a blunt object: mallet, rolling pin, empty wine bottle; and start pounding the cutlet, thinning it out in all directions. Make sure you especially widen the piece, as you will need it to roll around itself. Make sure you don’t tear any holes in the chicken, it should be about 1/8 – 1/4 of an inch thick. Get some aggression out! Ba-bam!

Place the three thin cutlets next to each other on a cutting board. Top each with a piece of ham and 1/3 of the grated cheese. Roll up the chicken, tucking in the ends if possible. You can use wooden toothpicks to make this easier. You essentially want to try to close any holes cheese may seep out of. Let them rest in the fridge for 10 minutes.

Take the piece of bread and put in the food processor until crumbs form. Add salt, pepper, basil and oregano. Pour onto a small plate. On another plate put the egg white.

When the chicken is ready, roll each piece in the egg white, then the breadcrumbs, and place on the baking dish. Bake for 25 minutes. Make sure to check about 10 minutes in to make sure there is not too much cheese spilling out :)

I served this with garlic mashed sweet potatoes and roasted broccoli and cauliflower. Slice the chicken and enjoy!

Ooh la la! I can’t believe this actually worked! Not only did I correctly stuff a chicken breast (after making my own cutlets) but the melty Swiss cheese stayed in its chicken home, to only ooze out in all of its glory upon cutting with a sharp knife. The Swiss, ham, and chicken worked perfectly together, and the chicken was kept moist by its delicious stuffing. The crust was heavenly, the perfect French herbs to add to the dish. The earthy sweet potatoes and roasted vegetables complimented the chicken well, adding a variety of colors and flavors that made me want a piece of everything in each bite. And this is a much healthier version too, with less cheese and bread, it can be eaten to fulfillment!  I’m glad there were three cutlets, because one wasn’t enough :) I give this recipe a cordon bleu! (I know, so cheesy).

What is your favorite way to stuff chicken?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 10:01 pm

    this looks awesome!! and i’m eyeing that brussels sprouts omelet, too :) yes, i’m really ready for this rain to STOP!

  2. March 24, 2010 5:44 am

    Mmm, does this ever look good lady! I’m not a chicken eater myself but if I were I’d be all over it <3 You're giving me so many recipe ideas to feed to the boyfriend – it's always a challenge to surprise him with new things when I tend to stay away from the meats he's so fond of. Your blog is a great source for inspiration!

  3. March 24, 2010 7:29 am

    C’est très magnifique! I love cordon blue, and am usually only successful in keeping the cheese inside about 50% of the time. Félicitations.

    Whenever I stuff chicken, I usually butterfly the breasts to give me twice as much area to work with. I also like to brown mine on the stovetop, and finish cooking through by covering the skillet. Not only do I get a nice crust, but it also gives me the base for a great sauce.

  4. March 24, 2010 8:44 am

    Winner winner chicken dinner. You are so right- chicken cordon bleu is unbelievable. I completely forgot about this dish! I really think it may be one of the best chicken recipes in existence. You perfected the roll, too! It can be tough to get that spiral and to keep the filling in tact, but you are a success as usual my dear!
    I love to stuff everything. Ham or bacon definitely add so much inside chicken- flavorwise and tenderness-wise. And swiss or brie definitely are my favorite cheese additions! Great great job.

  5. March 24, 2010 8:46 am

    Your stuffed chicken looks perfect! I have resorted to the method of cutting a “pocket” into the chicken and stuffing it sideways because my pounding-out-and-rolling always turns into a disaster. I am really enjoying your educational tidbits too!

  6. March 24, 2010 9:16 am

    That looks so moist and delicious! I love chicken cordon bleu.

  7. March 24, 2010 9:31 am

    That looks great. The only stuffed chicken I’ve made is cutting cooked chicken open and stuffing it with cheese. I need to step up my game!

  8. March 24, 2010 9:39 am

    Very nice! Looks like perfection to me! I like making this Giada recipe for Josh every now and again (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/chicken-saltimbocca-recipe/index.html)

  9. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    March 24, 2010 9:51 am

    chicken cordon bleu was one of my ALL TIME favorite meals growing up! it’s so tasty!

  10. March 24, 2010 11:23 am

    Sorry about the weather!

    Your chicken looks very professional. I don’t eat chicken anymore but Ali would probably love something like this. And it looks so complicated but really isn’t, so I might win points for effort!

  11. March 24, 2010 5:14 pm

    You did an excellent job – it looks perfect! I love your presentation. I bet it was delicious! I did a Gouda/Prosciutto/Spinach version before – really good.

  12. March 24, 2010 7:37 pm

    I love stuffed chicken rolls! Chicken stuffed with swiss and ham sounds amazing. I would give you a cordon bleu, too! I like stuffing my chicken with sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, goat cheese and a hint of lemon juice/zest. Nice job on this dinner, Sophie!

  13. March 24, 2010 7:51 pm

    uh la la… this looks awesome! great job!

  14. March 25, 2010 5:15 pm

    This is one of my favorite dishes ever… And yours looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

