Skip to content

Infamous Kale Chips

April 11, 2010

I am writing this post ahead of time because I predict that, by the time you all are reading this, Future Sophie may be chowing down on some Jimmy’s Diner and watching Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead. Or Bridget Jones’s Diary. That is definitely my favorite movie to watch after a big night!

I know I left you all hanging about the blog-famous kale chips last night. For months I have been saying “Oh yeah, I have to try those.” Why I waited for months, I have no idea. These things are more-ish (you keep wanting more, and more, and more). Thin and crispy, they literally melt in your mouth. Whoever made these for the first time ever, who had the genius idea to roast kale: THANK YOU!

While I was demolishing my second batch (Z and I devoured the first one in 5 seconds, “mmm-ing” and “aaah-ing” with every bite) I thought of all the ways I could use these.

-As a crispy salad topper
-With dips or ketchup
-In sandwiches for some added crunch
-Crumbled on top of soups instead of crackers
-As a side dish to any summer meal or picnic
-On top of sushi instead of tempura
-Instead of popcorn while watching a movie

Kale Chips (adapted from every foodie blog out there!)

1 bunch of kale
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt, pepper, garlic powder

Preheat the oven to 350*

Take the leaves off of the kale, leaving the thick stalks and any large veins. Break them up into about 2 inch pieces. Put them in a bowl.

Drizzle with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Using your hands toss the kale with the seasonings, and rub the leaves so each one gets a thin coating of oil.

On a baking sheet, spread the kale out in one layer. Bake for 20 – 30 minutes, or until the kale is crisp. It should crunch and dissolve when you bite into it.

Feast.

Readers, I urge you: go out, buy some kale, and make these. I think I may need to join Kale Chips Anonymous. My name is Sophie, and I’m addicted to Kale Chips.

How was your weekend?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 5:34 am

    MMmmmmm, I love kale chips!! :)

  2. April 12, 2010 9:07 am

    I haven’t tried them yet. Whenever I buy a bunch of kale i think: “I should make kale chips”. But I never do!

  3. April 12, 2010 9:42 am

    It must be official – I’m the only blogger yet to try these!

  4. Jamie permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:39 am

    It was a brilliant weekend because you were here!! Kudos on the Jimmy’s Diner premonition, although I forced you all to watch hockey instead of trashy movies!

    This recipe is so easy, I’ll have to try it soon!

  5. Lauren permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:04 pm

    I’ve heard about kale chips and how (deliciously) easy they are to make! I will add it to my grocery list for tonight.

    Hooray ’80s weekends :) Love you!

  6. angela haines permalink
    February 9, 2014 7:33 pm

    Delicious! Even my picky husband tried them and LOVED them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

