Skip to content

Feliz Cinco de Mayo…Manana!

May 4, 2010

Cinco de Mayo was one of my favorite holidays when I was in college. The weather is just starting to warm up, everyone is in a great mood, and I love margaritas. Plus I have already explained my mild obsession with Mexican food. It makes me sad how certain holidays (St. Patrick’s Day, Australia Day, Mayfest for Syracuse folks) lose their mojo after graduation.  But just because I’m not going to hit up Alto Cinco for burritos and have a date with my blender and Jose doesn’t mean there isn’t some way to celebrate.

While Cinco de Mayo isn’t until tomorrow, I wanted to share a recipe a day ahead, just in case it inspires you to do a little celebrating. As much as I wanted to attempt making my first enchiladas, after last weeks black bean extravaganza we are of a bit on a break. And I believe it would be cheating to have enchiladas, tacos, or burritos without them.

The thing I love about Mexican food (besides melty cheese and refried beans) are the vegetables. A plate of Mexican food is so colorful and friendly; peppers and corn, mushrooms and tomatoes, lettuce and salsa. If any cuisine is a rainbow it is Mexican. When I food shop every week I always make sure to get some Mexican-inspired vegetables (whether they are frozen or fresh) because having them on hand makes whipping up a meal oh-so-easy. Toss them with some rice, throw them in a tortilla, or mix them in a salad and you are good to go. Or do like I did, and cook them in a hearty, fresh, and delicious Mexican frittata.

Mexican Frittata

1 potato, thinly sliced
1 small onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup of chopped peppers (any color, or a mix of colors!)
1 cup canned or frozen corn
4 eggs, beaten with 1/4 cup of milk, salt, pepper, and 1 teaspoon Paprika
1/4 cup Mexican cheese mix
Hot sauce and parsley for serving

Boil the sliced potatoes in a pot of water for 5 minutes, or until they are starting to get soft.

Saute the onion and garlic in a non-stick pan with a little Pam. Add the peppers and corn and cook until the peppers are soft. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the potatoes to the vegetables and gently toss until mixed.

Pour the eggs over the vegetables, turn the heat to medium, and cook until the bottom is set. Then either flip the frittata and cook in the pan or put under your oven broiler until the top is set.

Serve with fresh parsley, hot sauce, and a side salad.


While I missed my cheese-filled nachos, this dish was a great Mexican treat. I love peppers and corn, and the potatoes really bulk up the meal and make it much more filling. It is also quick and easy, perfect to make while you really focus on blending those margaritas. Its Wednesday, you deserve a treat!

Hablas Espanol?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 9:37 pm

    Okay, I don’t wanna butcher this, since it’s been awhile since my last Spanish class…but hablo Espanol un poco….hahaha. I’m actually not the biggest Mexican cuisine fan, but this frittata, I would devour!

  2. May 5, 2010 7:35 am

    Feliz Cinco de Mayo!!

  3. May 5, 2010 9:03 am

    Si, hablo espanol. Feliz Cinco de Mayo! Su frittata mexicana se va deilciosa.

  4. May 5, 2010 3:44 pm

    Yay for eggs with a Mexican twist – great minds think alike :) The potatoes on top make me want to dig right in!

  5. May 5, 2010 4:03 pm

    I’ll be indluging my Mexican obsession today!! Happy Cinco De Mayo!

Trackbacks

  1. Pomegranate Margaritas « Yumventures
  2. What’s In Season: July « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

