Skip to content

How The?!: Cutting a Mango

June 3, 2010

Z thinks the things I “can’t handle” are hilarious. I can roast a chicken, drive a stick, and do an oil painting in 5 hours. But I give him an “are you serious?!” stare if he asks me “guesstimate” a measurement or eat a blueberry (um, just no). Or cut a mango.

For a long time I just didn’t understand mangos, mainly because of the oddly shaped pit they have. That blew my mind. How do I know where to cut it? If I cut the wrong direction I’m doomed!

(I’m a little over dramatic)

So my friend Google and I teamed up and tackled mango once and for all.

First, you have to visualize the pit. Like so:

Then, look at the mango and figure out the way the pit is running. That means the shorter sides will each be the end of the pit, while the big, flat sides are the…well…big, flat sides of the pit.

Big and flat:


Skinnier!:

Take your knife, and slice it about 1/2 inch from the middle in the same direction the pit runs.


Then, do the other side.

Now take each mango half, and carefully cut squares that go down to where the skin is (but not through the skin).

Bend the half so all of the squares pop up!

Then gently cut along the skin to remove it while keeping the most mango in tact that you can.

The hardest part is cutting whats left around the pit. Cut each of the edges first.

Then gently destroy trim whats left. Keep in mind that the mango right next to the pit is stringy, so you can leave that.

Ta da! Cubed mango.

The perfect summer treat. And went perfectly in my Miso, Mango Chicken Salad. Now I can handle a mango.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:20 pm

    Sophie, you’re a genius! I bought a mango a few years ago because Ethan loves them but I spent probably 20 minutes trying to slice (hack at) it. And I haven’t bought one since. Maybe time to change that!

  2. June 3, 2010 8:53 pm

    I tried to attack the pit with my teeth to get every last bit of mango goodness :D

  3. June 4, 2010 6:39 am

    This is great! I have such a hard time with mangos. I always waste so much.

  4. June 4, 2010 8:54 am

    Cool thanks! My bf loves mangos and we always have a hard time cutting them correctly.

  5. June 4, 2010 10:46 am

    i LOVEEEE mango. i recently found some frozen at TJ’s for super cheap, so i grabbed 5 bags to bring home with me… but they won’t last long! i make sure to wash the skin well because i like to eat it off the peel to make sure i don’t miss anything.

  6. June 4, 2010 11:06 am

    I am one happy girl. I had no clue the proper way to cut a mango other than just straight hacking into it and maybe yelling and/or crying. I just adore the step by step tutorial! Love this and I’d like to see a lot more of them, my daring!!

  7. June 6, 2010 11:11 am

    I mangled my first few mangos – this is a great tutorial!

  8. June 6, 2010 7:46 pm

    What a great post! Mangos are tough to tackle.

  9. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    June 7, 2010 8:29 pm

    oh my gosh; I had no idea how to cut mangos! thanks so much! this has changed my life (seriously)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

