Skip to content

Curried Chicken and Potato Salad

July 13, 2010

We’ve been having a heat wave here in Boston. Temperature soaring towards 100*, the air so thick you can cut it with a knife. Even a freak torrential downpour left us nothing but steam on the sidewalks and literal 100* humidity. Living in an old building there is no central AC, and the one air conditioner we have has a permanent place in our bedroom window. That being said, our bedroom is now also our dining room.

This is because in addition to the extreme temperatures, I have also not ceased to turn the oven to 400*.  Which makes our eat in kitchen the Sahara, and me the crazy tourist who can see that mirage right over the next dune.

However, its not like I’m making us eat hot food. I’m just cooking it, then cooling it, then eating it.

Yep, that beautiful palm tree surrounded vista is right this way! I swear!

This past Saturday was no exception, as I burned mass amounts of calories not only sweating by an oven, but also over a hot stove. Not to worry, I wore a rocking headband, so this was a sweat-free salad.

This salad turned out so well, that A) we couldn’t wait for it to completely cool before eating it, B) we weren’t patient enough to serve it so we ate it out of a giant serving bowl, and C) it was so hot and I was so over my kitchen sweat-fest that we ate it sitting on our bed in de-humidified bliss.

Cool sweet potatoes add so much more pep than the regular white kind, in my 0pinion, and offered the perfect amount of sweetness to offset the spicy curry. Frozen chicken was baked and shredded for protein but developed intense creaminess once the dark meat hit the yogurt sauce. And as in any potato salad, there is nothing better than add-ins: raisins, onion, cashews, and the finely chopped heart of a head of romaine (doesn’t that just sound glorious?) added excitement in every bite. I couldn’t decide what I wanted more of, so I tried to get a little of everything in every spoonful. Needless to say, we had to do laundry later that night. Large mouthfuls + clean bedsheets = a mess.

Curried Chicken and Potato Salad (slightly adapted from Healthy Food for Living and Ellie Krieger)

2 sweet potatoes

2 skin on, bone in chicken thighs

1 cup Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons light mayonnaise

1 tablespoon curry powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

Salt and pepper

1/3 cup cashews

1/3 cup raisins

1/2 onion, finely chopped

4 inner leaves of a head of romaine, chopped (you can also use celery, but I had this on hand)

Preheat the oven to 400*

Place the chicken thighs in an oven proof dish. Cover the skin with salt and pepper. Bake for 30 minutes or until the chicken is no longer pink.

While the chicken is cooking, peel and cube the sweet potatoes. Put in a saucepan, cover with water, and boil until fork-tender, about 15 minutes.

When the chicken is done, remove the skin and discard. Remove the meat from around the bone, gently cube it, and place in a bowl in the refrigerator to cool.

When the potatoes are done, drain the water and pour cold water over them, until the outsides are cool. Place in the bowl with the chicken in the fridge.

When the chicken and potatoes have cooled sufficiently, add the cashews, raisins, onion, and lettuce.

In a separate bowl, mix together the yogurt and mayonnaise with the garlic powder and some salt and pepper.

Pour the yogurt mixture over everything and toss until evenly distributed.

If you’re wondering why my pictures look strange, its because the bowl is sitting in my mattress. I now realize how much I wish I could eat breakfast in bed every day. Except the pictures would never turn out as well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 9:13 pm

    So I admit that romaine is throwing me off a bit but I can imagine it adds a nice crunch – I’ll trust you on this one! It can’t be bad with sweet potatoes, raisins and cashews!

  2. July 14, 2010 9:15 am

    This sounds insanely delicious! Especially the way you describe it! I knew there was a reason I bought curry powder yesterday…I see this in my future…

  3. July 14, 2010 2:53 pm

    I still feel the need to bake bread in the heat.
    …and then of course I had soup for dinner on Monday.

    Cooking is so much more fun in the winter.

  4. July 14, 2010 8:40 pm

    The air is so thick here in DC that I feel like I can barely breathe. I still prefer the humidity to the dry conditions of LA though!

    I really love Ellie Kreiger’s recipes. This one looks delicious too. I bet I could make it minus the chicken (I don’t eat meat) and it would still be fantastic!

  5. July 14, 2010 9:10 pm

    i’m glad i’m not the only one sweating her @ss off in the kitchen w/o central air in these temps :) fabulous salad!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

