Skip to content

Curry Chickpea Burgers with Mango Curry Yogurt

August 19, 2010

With summer coming to a close (I know, don’t say it!) I am pulling out all the stops with the summer recipes I’ve been dying to try. No matter how much my Wrong Season Syndrome will make me crave an iced latte in February, sometimes I just won’t give in. Especially not when there’s salted caramel hot chocolate around.

One of the summer recipes I’ve tried and tried again to master is the veggie burger. Back in April I made a black bean burger which, while it was delicious, wasn’t as much a burger as a sort of black bean sloppy joe. Maybe its the meat eater in me, or just the fact that ground turkey doesn’t actually need any binding ingredients to be squished into a patty and tossed on the grill, but attempting to make a concoction of vegetables that will not only form a patty but hold together (due to either lack of uber moistness or not being so dry everything crumbles apart) has had me at a loss. I won’t mention the recipes I’ve tried that didn’t make it onto this blog because of the utter messes that have been served to Z on a plate. Come to think of it, the last time I gave him “Veggie Burger Crumble Salad” I made him make me promise I will never try to make a veggie burger again.

Then, I learned what I have been doing wrong.

Vegetables are, innately, delicate things, one to spend lots of love and care on, and I never thought about this as I tried to flip them like a big ole hunk of beef in my nonstick pan. I’m so glad I didn’t have a grill, or there would be burnt veggie burger remains burning amongst the coals. And nothing burnt smells that great. But in my secret continuous hunt to make a good veggie burger I came across a direction in one of Angela’s recipes. The directions said “preheat the oven”.

Oven?! Burger? I pondered these words for a while. Surely she couldn’t mean cooking a burger, the world’s most grillable substance, in an oven?!

But indeed she did. And this is what I have been doing wrong the whole time. Veggies burgers are innately delicate like the vegetables they are made from, and by baking them in the oven you are letting them do the work on their own, only touching them once to flip mid-cook. And the hot oven allows some of the water from the vegetables to steam off, leaving you a firm on the outside and soft on the inside perfect patty. Thank you, Angela, for opening my eyes!

In honor of Angela pretty much teaching me a thing or two, I wanted my very first successful burgers to be one of her recipes! This curried chickpea burger is like a falafel burger, full of spice and flavor with a beautiful golden color. I decided to add a yogurt and mango curry sauce, mostly to compliment the middle eastern flavors, and partly just in case I botched it up and ended up with a dry mess in need of some sauce to cover the remains. The combination turned out to be wonderful, especially with the fresh mango. Definitely a recipe I will make for many summers to come.

Curry Chickpea Burgers with Mango Yogurt Sauce (adapted from Oh She Glows)

For the Burgers:

1.5 cups cooked chickpeas
1/2 cup regular oats
2 carrots
1 tbsp olive oil
1.5 tsp Curry powder
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/4 tsp Tumeric
1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt, to taste
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

For the Sauce

1 small carton of plain yogurt

1/2 mango, diced

1 teaspoon curry powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 375*

To make the burgers, put the oats and spices (curry powder to pepper) in a food processor and process until smooth. Add the chickpeas, carrots, and oil and blend until smooth.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Using your hands, make 4 – 6 patties out of your mixture (depending on the size you want). Shape them in whatever shape you desire.

Bake for 20 minutes, then flip them over carefully and bake 20 minutes more.

While the burgers are baking, make the sauce. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and let marinade until the burgers are ready!

Serve on a roll or rustic bread the burger topped with the mango sauce, tomato, and lettuce.

I guess I will have to revoke my promise of never attempting to make a veggie burger again. I might have to make these again tomorrow.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 8:12 pm

    ooh, what a combo with the mango yogurt–I bet it would be awesome on black bean burgers, too!

  2. August 20, 2010 9:20 am

    Sophie, we are seriously sharing a head… the first part of this post is so much like what I wrote the other day! ha! These burgers sound delicious. I agree, the oven can be your friend when it comes to burgers! Even chicken and turkey burgers – I think I actually prefer broiling them rather than trying to grill or pan-sear them.

  3. August 20, 2010 2:46 pm

    i’ve been meaning to make these, they look delicious! and the spelt burgers with sunflower seeds too. angela has great veggie burger recipes :)

  4. August 20, 2010 4:36 pm

    These chickpea burgers look awesome!! I really want to try these out sometime soon!! And the mango curry yogurt is the icing on the cake!! :) Mmmmmmmmm!!

  5. August 20, 2010 9:17 pm

    Wow, good to know about the oven. These look fabulous and I love the idea of mango curry yogurt! I cannot believe summer is so close to ending… I’m spending all day tomorrow by the pool and I don’t care what anyone says! Happy weekend :)

  6. August 22, 2010 3:51 pm

    These sound so good! I can’t wait to try them!!!

  7. August 23, 2010 9:16 am

    These sound SO good! And I can’t get over how well shaped it is. My burgers always look more like…european countries…than nice round patties.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Curry Chickpea Burgers with Mango Curry Yogurt « Yumventures -- Topsy.com
  2. All Is Well — Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

