Skip to content

Tomato, Onion, and Bread Soup

September 10, 2010

I don’t normally post on Fridays. In my mind, the weekend starts at 5 pm on Friday afternoon and I relinquish my weekday responsibilities. Sure, I’ll work on the blog in the background, have a ton of errands to work and even some homework to do, but Friday evenings are just for me. Even if I stay in and cook a gourmet meal, I’ll save the recipe to post on Monday.

However, tonight was something different, something I had to share just in case any of you were suffering from the chill in the air and having amazing August tomatoes on your kitchen table this weekend (speaking of which, I’m looking at some new kitchen tables from CSN! Excitement!).

Yesterday my coworker came into the office with a ziploc bag full of the most gorgeous cherry tomatoes I’ve ever seen. Bright red, crisp yellow, deep plum; they were all the colors of the rainbow. I had to literally hide them in my drawer lest I being munching on them until they were gone for good. I needed to find a way to savor them in a fabulous meal! With mozzarella! And basil!

Then Mother Nature decided to throw fall at us in Boston and I was far too chilled in my skirt (because of course I wear a skirt on a cold day without checking the weather beforehand) to even consider eating a salad for dinner. So I made this soup.

Imagine a wonderfully perfect French onion soup, but with the addition of the sweetest and juiciest tomatoes. The bread melting in the broth, the tomato juice giving a hint of sweet roasted flavor. My word, this soup was good. And almost too easy to make.

Tomato, Onion, and Bread Soup (adapted from Eating Well)

1 onion, thinly sliced

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and pepper

2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 cup garlic cloves, sliced

2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

Preheat the oven to 450*

Toss the onion with the oil, salt and pepper. Place in a glass dish and roast for 10 minutes. Stir with a spoon and roast 10 minutes more.

Add the tomatoes and garlic to the onions. Roast 10 minutes, stir, roast 10 more.

Put the roasted vegetables in a pot and add the chicken stock. Bring to a simmer.

While the soup is heating, toast the bread.

Put the bread at the bottom of the bowl and cover with the soup.

Enjoy your first weekend of fall and make this. Even top it with cheese if you’d like! You won’t regret it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 6:36 pm

    This looks like the perfect dish for the transition from summer to fall! Yum!

  2. September 11, 2010 8:46 pm

    definitely a great use for the last of the summer tomatoes :)

  3. September 12, 2010 6:17 pm

    What a lovely soup and so perfect for enjoying summer tomatoes in this cool weather!

  4. September 13, 2010 8:58 pm

    What a delicious way to showcase the tomatoes! And I love that soup weather is upon us!

    • September 13, 2010 9:39 pm

      me too! I’m so excited for so many soups — I must try your cauliflower bacon one :)

  5. September 22, 2010 2:56 pm

    Oh I love bread soup! My nonna used to make it when I was a kid. Mmmm comfort food

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

