Skip to content

Swedish Meatballs with White Bean Mashed Potatoes

September 22, 2010

Some people may say that I have a slight cooking obsession. But then there’s home decorating.

My apartment is currently what I call “post-college chic”, meaning that I haven’t really invested much into my rental apartment. No more movie posters, but still using the clear plastic drawers from my freshman year dorm room. But if you find me perusing the internet and not looking for recipes, I’m usually looking at paint colors, new duvet covers, and the possibility of completely renovating our kitchen. If I could somehow convince my landlord to invest.

I love home decorating. I love looking at other people’s apartments, shelving ideas, color combinations. I love sitting in my own apartment, gazing at the walls, imagining what artwork I could hang and how at a cocktail party people would comment on my fabulous serving ware. Z thinks I’ve started to become a little obsessive, as any guy would who just needs a bed and an internet connection to be content at home. But I think its perfectly normal to have 15 web pages open at once while you carry around your laptop and “visualize” new crown molding and a leather ottoman.

A girl can dream, right? Or, she can go to IKEA.

IKEA is the perfect place for a decorating eye on a budget. Something for every taste, in every price range, with Swedish names that feel so European (if you can pronounce them). Don’t even let me go into the Marketplace. At least not without 2 shopping carts.

In my recent “OMG I really want to decorate my apartment now” mode, I’ve had to compromise. I need to just get through the next few busy weeks before I can have a weekend to do a little visual tweaking. And to get me through I made my second favorite thing at IKEA (besides the shopping): Swedish meatballs. In my opinion, even people who don’t like to shop should go to IKEA just for some good, cheap food. Or use their food as an inspiration to deter a possible spending spree that would make me wind up with more of those little wrenches than I can handle.

Swedish Meatballs with White Bean Mashed Potatoes

For the Meatballs
I slice bread
1/8 cup milk
1 lb ground chicken
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 egg while
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon allspice
Salt and pepper

For the Potatoes (adapted from Oh She Glows)
1 large russet potato, peeled and chopped
1 can white beans, drained and rinsed
Salt and pepper

For the Sauce
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup flour (I used GF Corn Starch)
14.5 oz chicken stock
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400*

First, put the bread and milk in a bowl and let soak for 5 minutes.

Put all of the meatball ingredients in the bowl with the bread and milk. Mix together thoroughly. Shape into small, 1 oz balls and place on a baking sheet. Put in the oven for 20 minutes or until they are cooked through.

Put the potatoes in a pot, cover with water. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are soft. Drain and put back in the pot. Add the beans, salt and pepper and mash together.

In a saucepan, add the oil and flour and cook over a medium heat until they form a paste. Slowly add the chicken broth, adding about 1/4 to 1/2 a cup at a time and whisking until smooth. When all the stock is added, season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve.

This meal may have deterred me from making an IKEA trip this weekend. But then there’s always Home Depot.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 3:56 am

    I’ve never had the food at IKEA. I guess I should! Blogger meetup! haha!

    I buy my apartment stuff online on Etsy. I love vintage and one of a kind things.

  2. September 23, 2010 7:15 am

    This recipe looks GREAT! I love the food at IKEA. Sometimes…I go there for the food. And then leave with much, much, much more.

  3. September 23, 2010 7:37 am

    Mashed potatoes with beans sounds really awesome. What a great way to add extra protein and fibre.

  4. September 23, 2010 8:14 am

    i need to try those mashed taters :) the bean idea is genious!

  5. September 23, 2010 9:51 am

    I NEED to make Swedish meatballs because I’m totally craving them now! And I love that you served them with white bean mashed potatoes :)

  6. September 23, 2010 10:17 am

    LOVE the mashed potatoes! way to add some heartiness.

  7. September 23, 2010 3:37 pm

    Just you wait till you become a home owner. You will spend more time and money at Home Depot than you ever thought possible. Ben calls it “Home Deposit”!

  8. September 23, 2010 3:43 pm

    We were just at Ikea on Saturday! I love their food so much! I splurged and got a cinnamon bun for the first time… omg. It changed my life!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

