Skip to content

A Healthy Fit: Creamy Polenta with Mushrooms

October 4, 2010

Hi, I’m Angela from A Healthy Fit and I’m so excited to be posting for Sophie while she is away. I love checking out what she is making in her kitchen and I wish I could make more interesting meals. When Sophie asked for guest posters I was excited because this meant I would be forced to make a real recipe. So, here we go!

I use to have a weekly plan. On Sundays, I would sit down with my cookbooks and pick out a recipe that I had never made before. I adopted this plan because the same week night dinners were getting pretty boring and predictable. Somehow, this Sunday ritual went to the wayside and all that the Professor and I have been eating are our same 4-5 staple meals which include our favorite avocado enchiladas, Gardenburgers with sweet potato fries, tofu scrambles, and homemade pizza. Sure, these recipes are good and possibly timeless, but week after week, these meals only spell one thing…B-O-R-I-N-G!

After watching my sister in-law slave away to cook us an amazing meal last weekend, I decided that I had to bring back my “one new meal a week” plan. I decided to choose a recipe out of my newest (untouched) cookbooks, The Vegan Table by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau.

I chose on her recipe for Creamy Polenta with Mushrooms. I had already bought some pre-made polenta, so I would really only be making the mushrooms. I was hoping that these mushrooms would resemble one of the best meals I had in my life at PortaBella on my honeymoon. A tall order considering those mushrooms were seriously the best thing I have ever tasted. I’m not joking. If you are in Carmel, you must go to PortaBella and get the Quattro Funghi alla Panna. To die for.

I was also excited to make this recipe because it meant that I was able to use my new recipe book holder.


This baby worked like a charm. In addition to propping your cookbook up, it also protects the pages from the spills and splatters associated with cooking. If you are like me and are a tornado in the kitchen, then you would understand the brilliance of some protective coverage.

The other great thing about this recipe was that it called for red wine. Four tablespoons for the sauce, a glass for the professor and me!


Alrighty, so enough of my ramblings. Let’s get to the recipe!

Now, I ended up not making the polenta because I already had some in the fridge, but if you are interested in making it, you can view the recipe here.

Now, on to the shroomies.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small sized yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 pounds assorted fresh mushrooms (I used oyster, cremini, and portabella)
  • 1 tbsp tamari soy sauce (I didn’t realize how low my bottle was, so not that much made it in my sauce)
  • 4-5 tbsp red wine, for deglazing
  • 3-4 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp Earth Balance
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh parsley for garnish (this was optional and I did not use)

Let’s get cookin’:For mushrooms, heat up the olive oil in a large sauté pan. Add onion and cook for a few minutes. Add mushrooms and sauté (medium heat) until they begin to get limp (the only time when getting limp is a good thing). You want to make sure that you don’t overcook them because if you do, they will lose their flavor and get a bit rubbery. No one likes rubbery shroomies! Sprinkle some tamari over those bad boys and transfer to a bowl.

My baby’s got sauce:

In the same pan that you used for the mushrooms, mix the red wine and vinegar. Stir in the “butter”  and then take a little taste to make sure it is all good. Remove your sauce from the heat.

Plate it up:

Place your polenta in a bowl (if you used the recipe) or on a plate if you heated up your pre-made polenta, load it up with mushrooms, and then drizzle the sauce.

The final product:

Looks divine right???

It was pretty darn good, but I think the sauce could be a bit more complex and possible a bit thicker, maybe some garlic could be added. I don’t know, but it was missing a lil’ somethin’ for me. It was not a replica of my honeymoon meal, but oh well.

I’m glad that I am back on my “one new recipe a week” plan and this one was pretty darn good. I can’t wait to make some more recipes from this cookbook.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 12:04 pm

    This sounds amazing. We just started making polenta this year and now I must try this recipe!

  2. October 4, 2010 12:43 pm

    I love polenta. It’s my favourite food. I much prefer it as a porridge though.

  3. October 4, 2010 12:53 pm

    i had a “one recipe a week” period too– i called it “operation cookbook.” i need to get back on that! your dish looks great :)

  4. October 4, 2010 2:12 pm

    Great choice of mushrooms! I love using mushrooms and polenta together.
    Thanks for sharing!
    – Brittany

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

