Skip to content

I Dream of Greenie: Vegan Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Cake

October 8, 2010

Here is a wonderful guest post from one of my favorite foodies, I Dream of Greenie:

Cooking is still a rather foreign term to me, but I have always loved to bake. When I became
vegan, I was up for the challenge of tweaking childhood favorite recipes into dairy free delicacies.

To be honest, I don’t always like to follow recipes so of course there were some failures…don’t
even get me started on the time I tried to make pancakes with coconut flour (who knew I needed to add a binding agent?)

But when my best friend of 10 years’ birthday (who is also vegan) came along in July, I was
determined to bake her something that was just as fabulous as she is.

And I am pleased to admit that the dessert was a huge hit, though I didn’t love the frosting and
have since tweaked it in the below recipe.

Without further ado, I present to you the Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Cake With
Chocolate “Buttercream”

I topped the cake with vegan sprinkles (yes they make them!) but it would probably also be
delicious topped with crushed peanut and/or drizzled with a peanut butter paste (peanut butter diluted with a bit of soy or almond milk) which you can put into a plastic bag and cut the corner off for piping.

If you or your guests are allergic to nuts, the double chocolate cookie cake is still ultra decadent. There are also tweaks in the recipe to make it soy and/or gluten-free.

Warning, we found the best way to eat this monstrosity was to dig right in with our forks…we
were drooling too much to take the time to cut a slice.

CAKE:

• 1 cup vegan margarine like Earth Balance

• 1 cup brown sugar

• 1/3 cup soft silken tofu, I like the Mori-Nu brand. *Also, to make it soy free, you can
substitute the tofu with Energ-G egg replacer (the amount of 1 egg) or 1 tbsp ground
flaxseeds mixed with 3 tbsp water*

• 1 1/2 cups flour *To make them gluten free, replace regular flour with Bob’s gluten-free
baking flour*

• 3/4 tsp baking soda

• 3/4 tsp vanilla extract

• 1/4 tsp salt

• 2 tbsp cocoa powder

• 1/2 cup peanut butter *I used crunchy natural PB because I like the texture of the peanut
pieces*

• 1 10 oz package chocolate chips *I used the Enjoy Life brand which came in a
mini size and made for lots of little moist morsels (try saying that 5 times fast)

PREP:

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl and in small batches, cream together the margarine and brown sugar. Add the
tofu (or egg replacer or flax seeds if you choose to use those instead) and vanilla and whisk until smooth and creamy.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cocoa powder and salt. Add to the margarine mixture and combine well.

Add the peanut butter and mix well, then fold in the chocolate chips.

Butter a 9 inch round cake pan and bake for roughly 25 minutes. *Check on it after 20 minutes by sticking a knife through the middle. Cake is ready when knife comes out clean*

CHOCOLATE “BUTTERCREAM” FROSTING

Adapted from: NPR

4 ounces unsweetened (or bittersweet) chocolate, chopped

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 stick margarine, room temperature

3 tablespoons soy milk, plus more, if needed

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

Heat chocolate in a double boiler until melted (alternatively, microwave it at 30 second intervals).
Let cool to room temperature. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater,
combine the confectioners’ sugar, margarine, milk, vanilla and salt, and beat on low speed until
combined, about 1 minute. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Increase
the speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes, then reduce the speed to low. Add the chocolate
and beat until combined, then increase the speed to medium and beat for 1 minute more.

If the frosting is dry, add more milk, 1 teaspoon at a time, until it is creamy but still holds peaks.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 2:52 pm

    Ooh this sounds really really tempting! Especially the “buttercream”

  2. October 8, 2010 4:00 pm

    what a great vegan recipe! thanks for sharing!

  3. October 9, 2010 7:54 am

    Frosting is my favorite part of cake!

  4. October 21, 2010 8:34 am

    Wow that looks amazing!!! I want to try this!

Trackbacks

  1. Finally Perfected The Frosting For My Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Cake!! « I Dream of Greenie
  2. Tweets that mention I Dream of Greenie: Vegan Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Cake « Yumventures -- Topsy.com
  3. Vegan Myths Debunked « I Dream of Greenie
  4. Double Chocolate PB Cookie Cake Revisited « I Dream of Greenie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

