Skip to content

Gluten Free Apple Pie

October 25, 2010

(This recipes was intended for submission to Rachel’s Project Tasteless. However, due to my current inability to effectively manage my time, I cooked it to contest standards but failed to actually post it before the midnight on Sunday deadline. If anyone would like to explain to me game theory in economics, perhaps my deadline meeting abilities will be restored!)

Would you believe that I’ve never made an apple pie?

Apple pie is definitely one of my top favorite desserts, and without a doubt my favorite kind of pie. When I was younger, my neighbor would make apple pies built so high it was like a cloud being pulled out of the oven. I love it a la mode, but have a special fondness pairing a slice with a sharp, cave aged cheddar. Don’t even ask, just try it. Your vanilla ice cream with forever remain in your freezer.

However, me making an apple pie is a totally different story. I don’t know why pies make me fearful, but I seem to recall many a bubbly mess from a failed crumble or overcooked tart. A pie would push me beyond my limits, without a doubt.

Since I was entering a challenge, and Z had requested numerous apple pies this year with a solemn “uh huh” from me in response, I knew I had to make one for this challenge. And since this was the Naked Chef challenge, who better to turn to than the original foodie nudie, Jamie Oliver.

This apple pie is the quintessential British pie. Rather than a thick, cinnamon apple jelly encompassing each slice in the American tradition, these apples are individually cooked, lightly spiced, with a hint of lemon that brings brightness to the dish. And this crust…it made me feel like I wasn’t eating something gluten free.

Gluten Free Apple Pie


Gluten Free Crust (adapted from Food.com)

1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour
1/3 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon xanthan gum (Bob’s Red Mills)
8 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces
1 large egg
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Mix flour, xanthan gum, and cornstarch in a large bowl.

Add sugar, butter, egg and vanilla and mix until combined. It will be quite crumbly.

Turn the mixture onto a clean surface and knead dough until it comes together. Cut in half and wrap each half in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

For the Filling (adapted from Jamie Oliver)

6 apples, mix and match the types

3 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Juice of 1 lemon

Peel and core the apples, then thinly slice them into about 10 slices an apple. Put in a large bowl.

Add the other ingredients and toss together until thoroughly coated.

To Put Together

Preheat oven to 350*

Grease a 9″ pie pan

Remove dough from fridge. On a floured surface, roll out one piece of dough until it would cover the pie dish with about a half-inch hanging over the sides. Carefully place in the pan, making sure you push the dough into the sides.

Pile in the apples and pour over any collected juices.

Roll out the second piece of dough and cover the apples with it. Crimp together the edges with your fingers.

Crack and mix an egg in a small bowl. Brush egg in a light layer over pastry crust.

Bake in the oven for 35 – 40 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 7:09 pm

    Beautiful! I’ve never made an apple pie either…they intimidate the heck out of me!

  2. Lauren permalink
    October 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    This looks great! I’m so glad the GF pie crust was a success. Nothing says fall like warm apple desserts!

  3. October 26, 2010 3:25 am

    That looks great! I’ve never made a pie either, but I don’t think that surprises you ;)

  4. October 26, 2010 7:57 am

    I imagine that gluten free crust would be quite good. Considering that there is no gluten in the flour, I imagine that it couldn’t become overworked and gummy and would probably be quite flaky and light, no?

  5. October 26, 2010 11:42 am

    This looks fabulous! I’d love to try it to see how it compares to non-gluten-free apple pie… The recipe seems quite similar :)

  6. October 26, 2010 9:17 pm

    looks fabulous!! mmm, apple pie :)

  7. October 28, 2010 8:56 am

    Ohhh my does that look good! Did you use any specific GF flour? I bet it would be good with almond flour! And xantham gum is something I’ve been wanting to use for awhile now…just intimidates me! Kinda like apple pie, I guess! ‘Cause I’ve never made one, either!

  8. fabfitorflab permalink
    October 28, 2010 7:06 pm

    I recently moved to Phoenix from the midwest and am craving those essential fall foods and activities. You’ve inspired me to break out my bake ware and make an apple pie!!

  9. October 31, 2010 10:45 pm

    The crust looks perfect – I can’t believe it’s GF! Apple pie is one of my favorites :)

  10. February 10, 2011 3:07 am

    I love apple pies but the most unfortunate thing about these tasty desserts is the amount of sugar that have. On the other hand, not using enough sugar will definitely kill the taste. But I will use your recipe and use the glutton free flour and even use only 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 to see what it will taste like.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

