Skip to content

Butternut Squash Pizza

November 1, 2010

About 6 months ago, I watched my first episode of Lost. 2 months later, I finished the final episode. That’s right, 6 seasons in 2 months. Don’t tell me I didn’t have a life.

Since I completely missed the whole Lost bandwagon while the show was on (and therefore missed having about a thousand heart attacks due to cliff hanger episodes and white flashes that don’t get resolved until the next season) I decided that this Halloween I would celebrate Lost and its most amazing character: the smoke monster.

No, no one really got what I was. But it does look like Project Runway threw up on me.

And since I love cooking with a theme, I just had to enter Rachel’s Project Tasteless for this week.

The challenge was to create a pizza based on your Halloween costume. Hmmm….

Maybe I would go all John Locke on the ingredients?

Maybe I would make a pizza of Claire’s favorite food?

Nah, I had to go with my costume in all its glory: Smoke Monster Pizza!


Chargrilled to perfection. Just be careful it doesn’t come out of the woods and eat you alive. Beware of strange electrical sounds.

But in reality, we still had to eat, and not that Smoke Monster pizza doesn’t taste delicious because well, it doesn’t.

When I saw the plea to make this pizza on Rachel’s blog a couple of weeks ago, I knew it would fit the Lost bill. Creamy ricotta, rich squash, and bursting with herbs? It just makes me want to yell,

“We have to go baaaack!”

(and make this again!)

“We Have To Go Back” Pizza (aka Butternut Squash Pizza)



1 small butternut squash
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper
1 small onion
1 pizza dough or flatbread
1 cup fat free ricotta cheese
2 cloves garlic
4-5 sage leaves

Preheat oven to 450*

Peel the butternut squash and cut into 1 inch pieces, removing the seeds. Peel the onion and slice in 1 inch rings.

Toss the squash and onion with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Put on a roasting tray and roast for 25 minutes, or until squash is soft. (Stir halfway through cooking).

In a small bowl, combine the ricotta, garlic, and some more salt and pepper. Season with any extra herbs (thyme is great!).

Roll out your pizza dough. Top with a layer of the ricotta cheese, then the roasted squash and onion. Chop up sage leaves and sprinkle over top. Bake according to dough instructions.

Savor, and be happy you’re not stuck on an island.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    November 1, 2010 10:26 pm

    Yum! Go smoke monster!

  2. November 2, 2010 3:34 am

    I still haven’t watched the last season. We’re waiting for it to come out on dvd.
    This pizza sounds delicious!

  3. November 2, 2010 5:42 am

    This pizza looks awesome.

  4. November 2, 2010 1:33 pm

    HAHAHAHA, as a Lost fan, I LOVE your costume! That is awesome!! And that pizza is almost as awesome, but smoke takes the cake :)

  5. November 2, 2010 7:06 pm

    Love it! LOST is one of my favorite shows ever!

  6. November 2, 2010 9:02 pm

    Haha awesome! I didn’t watch Lost, but my bf did the same thing you did. He says he doesn’t know how he would have watched it having to wait week to week! He sat and watched like a million episodes in a row :) The pizza looks delicious!

  7. November 3, 2010 10:11 am

    This. Is. Terrific.

  8. November 3, 2010 10:44 am

    Mmm. Butternut squash fan here — it’s so good on pizza, right? Sage is a nice touch. I LOVE that you were the smoke monster!

  9. Irina G permalink
    November 3, 2010 1:21 pm

    Loooooooove it! I’m a huge Lost fan and just bought some butternut squash and have been trying to figure out what to do with it. This looks DELICIOUS!

  10. November 4, 2010 9:04 pm

    Sophie, I would have understood your costume! And I looove how you connected the pizza to the store – very creative!

  11. November 6, 2010 1:30 pm

    Such a cute post and costume! And the ricotta/squash combo sounds super tasty.

  12. April 3, 2011 10:51 pm

    wow yum that sounds so tasty i want to go and get the ingredients and make it thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Project Tasteless Challenge #2 Winner!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

