Skip to content

Yumventures in Vegan Pizza

January 15, 2010

Yesterday, to celebrate my boss’ promotion, my supervisor organized a special lunch for our team. My job as assistant:  order pizza from the gourmet Boston pizza company, Upper Crust. Yes, I, office-known gluten free girl, is asked to select from the most succulent of pizza combinations which she would prefer to sit by and watch her coworkers eat. Mozzerella, artichoke hearts, pesto, and sausage, atop the most glorious wheat-filled crusts. So there I sat, and there I craved. Pizza is the number one thing I miss from my gluten filled days, and I was full of envy.

Yesterday just so happened to be a Thursday. And on Thursdays, the vegan pizzaria Peace o’ Pie, right down the street from my apartment, has a gluten free night. When I came home and told Z my sad story (it is such a sad story!) he offered to take me out for a GF treat. Z is a lover of all pizzas greasy (sausage and ham and bacon and pepperoni, please!) but sacrificed a dinner out for my intolerance.

We ordered “The Fresh”: Dollops o’ pesto and cheese with broccoli, onion, and garlic. Yum!!

The pizza was amazing, in my opinion. Not just because the toppings were delish (roast garlic and pesto get an A+), but it just happened to be the best GF pizza crust I have ever had! And I’ve tried a lot, hunting through NYC for some “real pizza”. It may not have been “real pizza” in the sense that it was grease filled deliciousness, but the dough was chewy, while crunchy, and thick, and…like pizza dough! I was a little skeeved out by the thought of soy cheese, but it was used sparingly and tasted like melted American cheese, which I happen to have a weird love for (food snob likes processed cheese. Go figure).

The nice part was after eating this pizza was I didn’t feel like I just ate a pizza. The fresh ingrediants (often organic) and lack of any refined sugars or starches made me feel light and fresh, even after 4 slices! (They were little slices, in my defense 🙂 ) Peace o’ Pie is also a green restaurant, using recycled materials and energy-saving lightbulbs, so you walk out feeling as though you did some good for the environment, too. For my first vegan restaurant yumventure (and my first blog yumventure) this one definitely takes the cake!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 9:14 pm

    Your gluten-free pizza looks delicious!

  2. 14yearoldvegan permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:32 am

    Me and my sister always make gluten-free vegan pizza and it’s so good! Yours look delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

