Skip to content

A Gourmet Meal?

January 16, 2010

Z had a bad day at law school (as many first year students do!) so I told him I would make dinner when I got home. The other night (before deciding to get delicious GF pizza!) he had suggested stuffing chicken breasts with some goat cheese we still had left in the fridge. Expanding this idea, I came up with goat cheese and sundried tomato stuffed chicken breasts. A wonderful gourmet yumventure lay ahead!

Note: I have never stuffed a chicken breast before.

I tried to, once, for a dinner party we had a few months ago. But I cut the breasts too thinly, and the ricotta-sage stuffing ended up being very underseasoned, and coupled with underseasoned chicken (thank you, British genes, for making me unable to season food!) it was a very beige mess. So this time I picked two incredibly flavorful stuffing ingrediants, hoping the flavors would bake and absorb into the chicken.

I couldn’t quite “stuff” the chicken, but I said that the goat cheese would taste nice all golden brown instead. 🙂 I also decided to make carrot fries and zucchini salad to go along with the meal. Roasted carrots are my favorite, and way better for you than frying potatoes!

This, my blogosphere friends, is my makeshift counter top. Why do I need to put a cutting board across my stove to chop up some lovely carrot fries? Because this is what my kitchen looks like:

A (very messy) kitchen, without a countertop in sight! I love my apartment (Boston apartments > NYC apartments in space and price!) but I have been left with no prep space in here! I plan on getting a table to fit down the side under the window…one day.

Back to cooking — so I shoved everything in the oven and it came out 40 minutes later looking beautiful!

Now time for the fail part, as always happens in my cooking yumventures. Z’s opinion on the carrot fries: awesome! Zuccini salad: also good! The chicken: BLAND! The stuffing had amazing flavors, but without marinading the chicken beforehand, it was like eating a little goat-cheese goodness with the plainest chicken on the planet. Even a little salt and pepper didn’t do the trick. Oh British genes, not again!

Z ended up pulling out some Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo sauce, and then he ate the entire thing. But what doesn’t taste good with Frank’s?

In the end, I think if I had marinated the chicken (maybe in lemon and garlic?) it would have been much tastier. But here is the “recipe” of my thrown together yumventure, up for improvements!

Stuffed Chicken Breasts

MARINADE chicken in your favorite marinade for a few hours before cooking

Slice the chicken breasts on the bias, but not all the way through to it creates a “flap”

Mush together 2 0z of goat cheese and 4 chopped up moist sundried tomatoes.

Stuff that mushy mixture under the flaps.

Spray a little pam in a baking pan, put the breasts in, and cook at 400* for 30 minutes.

Carrot Fries

Cut up come carrots to the size of normal french fries. Put in a baking dish with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. Roast at 400* for 40 minutes. Every 15 minutes or so, take them out an shush (my mom’s term for mixing around a bit and turning them over with a spoon) them so they get crispy on all sides.

Zucchini Salad

Simply slice zucchini and toss with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper. It’s a simple recipe, but one of our go-to side dishes.

I guess this yumventure wasn’t quite as gourmet as I had hoped. But on the upside, nothing was burned or destroyed! Please comment if you have any ideas to improve this recipe…I think it could be a good one! And now I’m off for a day of cleaning and pancake day!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 9:51 am

    Hi Sophie,

    My suggestion would be to butterfly the chicken. That’ll give you more surface area for the stuffing, then roll and tie with kitchen string. If you have problems with the stuffing falling out, then add some of the raw chicken trimmings to the stuffing (will hold everything together very nicely).

Trackbacks

  1. Je Ne Sais Quoi « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

