Skip to content

Pancake Day!

January 17, 2010

Z and I are crazy in love with How I Met Your Mother, and have dubbed ourselves Lily and Marshall (shown above). While watching one of the “breakup episodes” (aka the saddest weeks of our life) we were intrigued by their weekly ritual of pancake day. We figured, we are pretty much exactly like them anyway, why not have our own pancake day too?!  Also, though I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, I enjoy a sweet endulgence once in a while, and in the vein of Carrots ‘n’ Cakes Cookie Friday, Pancake Day is my sweet treat of the week. So, the most awesome yumventure ever was born.

YUM!!

Being gluten free, as a pancake base I chose to go with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Batter. I ❤ Bob’s Red Mill. All of their gluten free produts are fab, and this is no exception. Z thought it tasted exactly like regular pancake batter, and not slightly dry and crumbly the others we had previously tried. I also like that the recipe on the back of the box doesn’t use up all of the mix (like some others do) so we will be able to use this for at least 3 pancake days to come! A+, Bob!

We have been on a banana kick lately, so decided to make banana walnut pancakes. Weeks ago I tagged a post from Gena over at Choosing Raw for her recipe for Banana Softserve. It looked amazing, but I never got around to trying it. At the beginning of the week a couple of our bananas were turning a little too brown for my liking, so I chopped them up and shoved them in the freezer. What better to go with banana walnut pancakes than banana softserve?

Banana Walnut Pancakes

Make 1 serving of your favorite pancake mix.

Mix in 1 smushed up banana and 1/2 cup crushed walnuts.

Make banana soft serve by putting frozen bananas in your food processor and letting it run for about 3 minutes. They go from being weirdly chopped up so suddenly combining in fluffy, creamy banana goodness 🙂

Top pancakes with banana softserve, crushed walnuts, and syrup (we use agave nectar, delish!)

Result: the most amazing pancakes I ever had in my life. The banana softserve was incredibe! Sweet and creamy and tastes just like ice cream, without the dairy and added sugar! I am definitely freezing tonnnnns of bananas and eating it for dessert! Props to Gena for this amazing creation!

What a great yumventure for a Saturday morning 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 9:34 pm

    Gosh I really need to get into HIMYM, huh? I’m the only one left who hasn’t seen it. Brilliant idea, topping pancakes with banana soft serve!

  2. January 18, 2010 1:48 pm

    It is a great show! I highly recommend watching it from season 1 =) Thanks for being my first comment!

Leave a Reply

