Skip to content

A Late Chicken Dinner

January 22, 2010

Today was a day off from the gym. I always find that there are things that I want to do on Fridays after work, and the gym is not one of them! I went and had a glass of Cab Sav with some of my coworkers before heading home to an empty refrigerator. Oh, why do I wait until 8 pm to go to the grocery store when I have nothing to make for dinner?

I have recently had this surge of motivation and excitement about setting goals and accomplishing them. I think a lot of it stems from A) Doing this blog and being able to share my accomplishments and B) Working on my 3 mile run. I’ve only been to the gym a few times since I started my run challenge, but knowing that every time I go I am working towards something is totally motivating!

I have decided to set myself some other goals, and was able to map some of them out during my downtime at work:

1) Save money on groceries by planning meals for the week and making lists. Look through bookmarked recipes and find menus that won’t let ingrediants go to waste (i.e quiche with goat cheese one day, a goat-cheese chicken day the next with the leftovers)

2) I did make the unfortunate mistake of stepping on the scale at the gym and saw that I have gained 10 lbs since the summer :/ I am definitely one of those women who gains weight in a happy relationship (who can say no to eating ice cream and watching a movie every night?). So another goal is, by cooking healthy meals and cutting back on junk, I hope I can lose the 10 lbs by the time the summer rolls around. I will try to not think too much about it, since I hope my running workouts will help this along. This goal will remind me to be mindful.

3) I realize that a lot of my mistakes when I cook are because I like to rush. I rush pretty much everything I do and don’t take much time to savor and enjoy. So my last goal is to slow down and really savor moments, and to bring that mindset into the kitchen with me. I know I can be a great cook, I just have to put my mind to it! I am going to try to master some great recipes and, once I feel comfortable, put my own spin on them. I have to tell myself it is OK to take my time.

4) My last goal is to venture out into the city of Boston and try something new or do something fun at least once a week with Z. We are both learning about the city together, and there is nothing better than exploring with the one you love 🙂

I am so excited to get these goals going! I have them written on a notecard by my work desk so I can remind myself of what they are, and keep being excited about them every day.

**************************************************************************

So back to the late-night shopping. In accordance with goal #1, I searched through my recipe archives, made a list of new recipes to try out this week, and made a shopping list. We ended up spending more than I hoped ($52) but at the same time that means we won’t eat out, which costs between $15 and $20 each time.

$52 = ~$7 a day = ~$2 a meal..for both of us together! When you do the math like that, it doesn’t seem like so much 🙂

Tonight I decided to make Kerstin from Cake, Batter and Bowl’s “Pecan Crusted Chicken with Lemon and Thyme“…but with a few variations of my own.

Here are my topping ingrediants. I used lime juice instead of lemon, and made my own crumbs with GF bread. I also used walnuts intead of pecans, and added some chili powder to the breadcrumb mixture. Z loves spicy food, so I figured it would be a good way to his heart 🙂

I coated the chicken, and they already looked completely yummy!

The final product, served with brown rice and mixed veggies. (For the first time ever, my rice did NOT stick to the bottom of the pan! Success!)

Ta-da! It came out perfectly! I guess it could be called Walnut Crusted Chicken with Lime and Chili 🙂

The verdict: Z liked it! The mustard/citrus combo under the crumbs gave it a real kick, and the crunchy crouton-ness of the crust was fabulous! I asked Z if there were any changes he would make, and he suggested a type of sauce to go along with it. We were thinking a kind of mustard vinegarette would work well with the flavors. I will definitely try to “invent” something like that next time. Even  though my version could use some improvements, it was very tasty. Thanks, Kerstin, for coming up with this amazing dish!

TGIF, blog world! And Happy 1 Week Anniversary Yumventures!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 10:37 pm

    I’m trying to be better about using up all my groceries too! Love your twist on this recipe – it sounds so tasty and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. May 9, 2010 9:12 am

    This post looks yummy. Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Meal Planning 101 « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

