Skip to content

Alchemist Lounge

January 22, 2010

Last night, Z and I made a trip over to Jamaica Plain to see some friends at the Alchemist Lounge. I don’t normally go out late during the week, but one of my best friends just moved to JP and wanted to check out some local spots. And these days, I’m always up for trying something new!

The Alchemist Lounge has two areas, a bar side where bands frequently play after 10 pm, and a restaurant. The decor is awesome, with red walls and dark wood, it is trendy and warm at the same time. Since we were six people and there was no band playing we decided  to take a seat in the restaurant. Our waitress was incredibly sweet, and up for giving everyone recommendations. They have a huuuuge selection of beers, wines, and enticing signature cocktails. The cocktails are $10 a pop, but they are so unique I find it to be worth it. Plus the beer and mixed drinks aren’t bad for city standards. I started out with a go-to vodka tonic ($7), but then moved on to a Blood Orange Cosmopolitan: Svedka clementine vodka, triple sec, blood orange juice, and lime.

It was MMM MMM MMMM YUM! It didn’t really taste like orange (though I’ve never had a blood orange, and am not sure how orange-y they are) but was very subtly sweet and refreshing. The glass was also huge and the perfect thing to sip on over the course of an evening. My friend Dave got the Rum Swizzle (he ordered it just so he could say the name): Goslings Bermuda Rum, Grenadine, fresh lime and pineapple with ginger beer. I don’t have a picture, but that drink had a kick to it! If you like ginger, you will love it. It was pretty sweet and powerful, and completly delicious.

We ordered some food as well. My friend Alissa got the cheesy flatbread (essentially a huge naan covered with melted cheese mmm) and Z and I got boneless buffalo tenders.

One word about buffalo wings: I am currently on The Hunt for the Perfect Wing. In New York, I believe the best wings to be from Dempsey’s Pub in the East Village. This has been confirmed by my friend from Buffalo (home of the buffalo wing) as he goes there every Wednesday night and texts me a picture of his delicious wing-goodness. If anything is pure evil, teasing me with Dempsey’s is!

In Boston, Z and I have yet to have wings that blow our mind, so we order them frequently to find ones that are up to the Dempsey scale. You will probably see them constantly popping up over this blog as the hunt continues. *Sigh*

The Alchemis Lounge’s boneless buffalo tenders were good, probably the better ones we’ve had in Beantown, but the sauce was not spicy! They chicken was moist, and the sauce had good buffalo flavor, but it needed some Frank’s Red Hot to kick it up. If you like mild buffalo I would highly recommend these, otherwise, the hunt continues.

It was pretty quite there for a Thursday night, the waitress told us, and right before we left a banjo band went on stage. Z had an interview the next morning, so we left before everyone else did. I will have to check in with them to see how the band was! I am definitely interested in going back and checking out some live acts, DJs on the weekend, and perhaps even the sock hop they are hosting next Friday night. I ❤ swing and motown!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

