Skip to content

Apple Pie Pancakes

January 23, 2010

Happy National Pie Day! The American Pie Council officially announced that today, January 23rd, is National Pie Day. As I was in no way prepared to bake a pie (or have ever baked one, future yumventure plan!) I decided to turn our second Pancake Day into a tribute to apple pie. Apple is probably my favorite type of pie, and though it is not normally made gluten free, I am often known to scoop out the insides and indulge in gooey cinnemon apple-y goodness. Our pancake day didn’t quite fit in line with my “mindfulness of 10 extra pounds” goal, but I could not give up our new tradition in its second week! Lily and Marshall would not approve πŸ™‚

Apple Pie Pancakes

To start, you want to get your “filling” going! I sliced up one apple (I used a medium sized gala one) and put it in a nonstick saucepan with a little Pam sprayed in, some cinnemon, lemon juice, and about a teaspoon of brown sugar. I set it on a low heat and kept stirring it while we were making the actual pancakes. The smell is amazing! As they cook down they begin to get soft, with the gooey consistancy so loved in apple pie. I turned off the heat when the apples were cooked through.

Yum! I wish computers had smell-o-vision πŸ™‚

Next, make your favorite go-to pancake mix (again we used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix — yum!) and add a good shaking of allspice, cinnemon, and nutmeg. Take another apple, peel it, and with a fine grater grate it into the mix. Apples don’t grate very well, they tend to mush up, but that will make the pancakes even better! Mix the apple mush in, and cook pancakes as usual.

Notice no spatula? Z is a semi-pro pancake flipper πŸ™‚

When the pancakes were done, I topped them with some agave nectar and the cooked apples. Holy yum! The mushed apples keep the pancakes nice and moist, and the cooked apples were just like the insides of a pie!Β  I definitely think this could be served as a dessert a la mode. One time I would like to try adding the cooked apples into the pancake batter and see if it comes out even more pie-ish.

Today looks like a day filled with lots of errands, a trip to the gym, and then celebrating my friend Kristen’s birthday with a trip out downtown πŸ™‚ Oh I love weekends!!

Will anyone be baking a pie to celebrate National Pie Day?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 10:39 pm

    Looks like the perfect way to start the day – yum! Oh, and I need lessons from Z – I am horrible at flipping pancakes!

    • January 25, 2010 10:18 pm

      We can trade – you can give me some cooking lessons, and Z will teach you to flip a mean pancake πŸ™‚

  2. frogsandmen permalink
    January 24, 2010 6:09 pm

    i think it was national yoga day too yesterday.

    hmmm. i’ll take the pie.

    -The Paris Food Blague

  3. January 24, 2010 6:29 pm

    Just found your blog! Those pancakes look divine!

  4. January 25, 2010 4:49 pm

    You did “pie” for breakfast too! I can’t say I ever get cravings for traditional pies, but I definitely appreciate their inspiration. I’d rather have your pancakes than an apple pie any day!

    • January 25, 2010 10:19 pm

      Aww thanks Diana! Your cereal pie looks great too! I think every day should be national pie day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

