Skip to content

Power Yoga and Sweet Potatoes

January 25, 2010

Yesterday was a day lost in the dryer (like socks sometimes are). I hardly did anything! It may have been because the bar we went to to celebrate my friends birthday, The Bell in Hand, which is normally an awesome old pub and a great place to chat, had turned into a frat party! I normally have a rule about popped collars and $10 covers, but since it was her birthday I made an exception. Staying out late and drinking more than my usual couple of drinks, I woke up the next morning thinking only of homefries!

To start my week off right and get my muscles in shape for Week 2 towards my running goal, instead of a run I went to Power Yoga. Power Yoga is a bit more intense than normal yoga, not so much relaxation and breathing techniques, but all about sun salutations and working up a sweat. I had never been to this class before, and it was great! The teacher was a lot peppier than your usual yoga guru, but it was the perfect fit for the tone of the class. We did two types of sun salutations and a lot of flows between warriors, angles, and some poses I had never even tried! I didn’t feel like I got the workout I would have going for a run, but my muscles felt amazingly limber afterwards, and I know my arms will ache tomorrow from those downward dogs. I think Power Yoga Mondays might be my new thing πŸ™‚

Tonight I was going to make a Greek Quiche for dinner, but we had lent the rest of our eggs to our neighbor over the weekend. As part of my goal to cut down on grocery spending and use groceries wisely, I already had a list of planned meals for the week, so skipped ahead to another Cake, Batter and Bowl one. Two of Kerstin’s recipes in one week? You betcha!

I absolutely love sweet potatoes, so when I saw this recipe for Truly Outrageous Baked Sweet Potatoes, I knew I had to try it! Z is still warming up to sweet potatoes (without marshmellows, that is!) so to intice him I added just a little extra kick to the recipe. I had some trouble cooking the sweet potatoes…I microwaved them for 20 minutes (the oven was being used by the chicken) and while the outsides were cooked, the inside was still hard. I ended up sticking the insides back in the microwave for another 5 minutes.

I baked 2 sweet potatoes and 2 chicken breasts, but I only ended up needing one shredded breast. There was sooo much filling! I will use the left over one for my quiche tomorrow, instead of the bacon I was planning. So much healthier! I also used fat free feta instead of goat cheese (on sale 2 for 1 this week!) and added a bunch more chili powder to satisfy Z. I then added a little extra of all the seasonings so my British bland gene would not show through πŸ™‚

The filling already tasted amazing…I knew it would be a hit!

The final product! I served it with a salad because the potatoes definitely had a kick to them, and some nice crisp lettuce would cool down the palette. And the verdict? The name fits the bill — they were totally outrageous!Β  πŸ˜€ Z ate both half of his, and was completely stuffed! I could only eat half of mine, and I’m going to take the other half in to work for lunch tomorrow. Totally yum and a great new way to serve sweet potatoes! I think the best part was that the lime juice added a totally new dimension. I can’t wait to experiment with other awesome fillings and getting in the twice-baked groove. Thanks again Kerstin!

One last note: to “pay us back” for the eggs she used, our neighbor bought me these gluten free chocolate chip cookes from Pamela’s Products!

I had never had anything from Pamela’s before, but…YUM! These cookies are moist and doughy, unlike many other gluten free cookies! The chocolate is also super melty, and not chalky at all. Z even liked them! Thanks neighbor πŸ™‚ My favorite quote from their website is “He who fears indulgence misses out”.Β I’m off to indulge in one of these for dessert!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 1:06 pm

    Yay, I’m glad you liked them! We always have sweet potatoes around because they are just so good. I have a rule about popped collars too, lol, glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

