Skip to content

I Have Wiiiiiiings!

January 27, 2010

Today was a day filled with wings, both personal and edible!

I had a great day at the gym! Earlier this week I read a post from Elina at Healthy and Sane  about pushing yourself when you work out. Today on the treadmill I really thought about that. I have been running for 25 minutes and a little over 2 miles fairly consistantly for a few weeks now. At 2 miles I am always pleased with myself, and allow myself to stop because I have done a great job. But how am I ever going to make it to 3 miles doing that?!

Today, when 2 miles came around at about 20 minutes in to my run, instead of slowing down I said to myself “5 more minutes!” And I cranked up the speed from 6.3 to 6.5. I felt the sweat begin to pour, but I zoned in to the show on TV (Cash Cab!) and let my mind wander from what my body was doing. My legs were flying, I had wings!! 5 minutes went by in a flash, and before I knew it I was slowing the pace down to a jog and looked at the milage: 2.54! That is the farthest I have run in a while, and I was pumped! I left the gym feeling as though I got a real workout!

Tonight was a night off cooking, and Z and I went to continue our Hunt for the Perfect Wing at The Avenue in Allston. We were not intelligent wing-stalkers and didn’t realize that The Avenue has 30 cent wings from 4 – 7 pm every day. We walked in at 7:15 and had to pay $8.99 for a plate of 12. Timing fail! We had our minds set on wings, though, so we got them anyway. I enjoyed a Magners while I waited.

The Avenue started off with extra points for having cider on tap (gluten free)! Plus, Magners is one of my favorites, not too sweet 🙂

Then, the wings came out!

The wings were incredibly meaty!  They also weren’t breaded, so extra GF point. The sauce had a nice kick to it and even some red pepper flakes thrown in, which I have yet to see in a Buffalo sauce. The blue cheese was quality, having actual blue cheese chunks (and wasn’t ranch, like some other places I know would serve. Who serves ranch with Buffalo?! Nobody.) Z and I gave them a 4 out of 5. I like my wings a little crispier, and they didn’t give me the OMG reaction that I have with truly awesome wings. Plus the plate was a little pricey. But for the 30 cent deal, I think this might become my go-to place for wings and beer (/cider)!

In all, I loved The Avenue! It has the atmosphere of a lot of dive bars I love in Brooklyn. There weren’t too many people around, but the bar had a nice buzz, a great place to chill and chat with friends. I’ll probably avoid it on a Friday or Saturday; I saw a sign that they have a DJ and I can imagine it turns pretty fratty.  But since the 30 cent wing deal extends all day Sunday, it would be the perfect place to watch a game and chow down. The only thing missing is a pool table 🙂 Z and I had a great time watching some college basketball and conducting some wing-analysis. Thanks, The Avenue, for having the best wings so far!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 7:20 am

    I love Cash Cab and do a good bit of my cardio while watching it too 😀 Great job on the run!

    • January 28, 2010 10:20 pm

      Cash Cab is awesome to work out to! I find myself yelling out the answers sometimes =)

  2. eaternotarunner permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:54 pm

    The avenue is pretty fun. Cash cab is AWESOME, good work on the run!

  3. January 28, 2010 3:38 pm

    Yay for a good run! I just signed up for my first 5K so I’ve decided it’s time to push myself to jog a bit faster. Sounds like the perfect place to enjoy a drink too!

    • January 28, 2010 10:20 pm

      Awesome you signed up for a 5K! I want to do one this spring too!

  4. January 28, 2010 3:52 pm

    I love this post! Great blog girl.Just found it. WTG on the run – wow! I am so bad for getting into something and then “giving up” early – like 20 mins instead of 30 or 50 instead of an hour…but a TV helps 🙂 Never heard of Cash Cab?? I’m a Canadian – I have to look at your profile – are you an Aussie?! Uh…can you find me a job writing or teaching yoga and I can move there forever !! 😉

  5. January 28, 2010 4:51 pm

    Congrats on the awesome run!!! And mmmmmm, I love me some cider in the winter months 🙂

  6. January 28, 2010 4:52 pm

    Oh man you are bringing me back to my college days with those wings… Can’t remember the last time I had one!

    • January 28, 2010 10:21 pm

      I think I would be a vegetarian if it wasn’t for wings, I can’t get enought =) Though buffalo sauce on anything is pretty amazing!

  7. January 29, 2010 8:32 am

    I eat wings every week (usually at happy hour), and sometimes I even make buffalo onion rings. And I also don’t understand who eats these with ranch dressing.

    Too bad you missed happy hour. I could eat so many wings for 30-cents each (I can barely make them for that price).

    • January 29, 2010 9:15 am

      Buffalo onion rings sound great! I saw on your site that you made some at home. I have never had success with that! Great job.

      • January 29, 2010 9:26 am

        I posted the recipe I used in the comments section of my post, incase you feel like givin’ ’em a try at home sometime.

        Mostly I make them at home, because I want to bake the chicken instead of fry. That way I don’t feel so guilty for eating them every week.

Trackbacks

  1. Post Workout Bars « Yumventures
  2. “Snow Day” « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

