Skip to content

“Tang” Chicken

January 28, 2010

Remember those old Tang commercials with the monkey? “It’s a kick in a glass”? That is what tonights dinner was, a good ole kick in the mouth of flavor. This is Z’s favorite meal, and by favorite he has claimed that he would eat it every night of the week for infinity. But what fun would that be?

Tang chicken actually involves no tang at all (fake orange soda? no thanks!) but is really Jamaician  Jerk Chicken, Sophie style. I had never had Jamaican jerk chicken before, but one night a few months back we were watching an episode of Gordon Ramsey’s The F Word (I ❤ Gordon Ramsey…I want to name my future dog after him!) and one of the competing restaurants was Jamaican and had jerk chicken as it’s signature entree. It was a cold week in Boston, so I perused Recipezaar.com (my favorite place to find recipes, besides blogs!), cranked up the reggae music, and made this dish for the first time. Tonight is the 3rd time I’ve made it, and it still blows my head off!

Jamaican Jerk Chicken (adapted from Recipezaar)

In a pyrex dish, combine the following ingrediants:

1 T garlic powder

1/2 T allspice

1/2 T thyme

3/4 t pepper

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t cinnamon

1 T salt

1/2 T sugar

1/8 cup vegetable oil

1/8 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup vinegar (I use red wine, white wine would also do, or cider if you want it sweeter)

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 onion, chopped

1 chili pepper, de-seeded and chopped (this is a super spicy sauce on its own. If you leave the seeds in I would classify it as “atomic”. But if you like that, throw them in too!)

Thats a lot of ingrediants! I love it, though, because I pretty much always have everything on hand. And you can easily sub things! No thyme — throw in some basil. No chili pepper — throw some dried flakes in. You really can’t go wrong.

Mix all of the ingrediants up together until they are well combined.

Take 2-3 chicken breasts (or 4-5 thighs, or a bunch of wings. Any chicken would taste good!) and submerge them in the seasoning. Get messy! You want to rub the seasoning in to the meat…I even slice a few slits in the breasts so the goodness gets right in! You can do this a day ahead of time and marinade, or skip right to the next step!

Take your pyrex dish with all of its spicy yumness, and put it in a 400* oven. Cook for 25-30 minutes, or until the chicken is done!

I serve it with rice and vegetables, topped everywhere with the remains of the sauce. Z loves to have extra rice so he can pour the sauce alllllllllllllll over it. Tonight he even licked the plate!

(I realized that my pictures have been so bad because of my camera settings, so I have started playing around with them. Work in progress! I think these are a bit of an improvement…)

The meal, as always with jerk chicken, was totally yum! It was a little too spicy for me (I didn’t have a chili pepper so I just added more chili powder, maybe a little too much!) but as always it was super flavorful. It gave my tastebuds the biggest wakeup call! It’s nice to have the vegetables a little blander so you have something to soothe the palette.

**************************

I had an awesome workout again today. I ran another 2.5 miles, but this time I let myself do it at a slower pace. I started to get a cramp around minute 18, but I couldn’t let myself not reach 2.5 after yesterday’s awesome run! By slowing down a bit the cramp became less painful, and I submerged my brain in trashy TV (Real Housewives) to make the minutes fly by. I have to say it, but I am really proud of myself for not giving up 2 days in a row!

My running shoes, however, are on the verge of collapse! I have had them for 6 years!!!!! I got them right before I left for college, but didn’t start working out on a regular basis until a few years later. But still, these guys are pretty sad…my toes peak out through the white bits in the front:

These are the only shoes I have ever run in, and I’m so nervous about getting new ones and having them hurt my feet! I need to feel the vibe 🙂 Can anyone recommend some good running shoes for me?! Any suggestions would be awesome!

I hope everyone has a good night. I’m so excited for it to be Friday tomorrow 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 12:00 am

    Haha, for some reason, the word “tang” made me think of Tang Dynasty, so I was expecting an Asian-style chicken. Yours look fabulous!
    Oh, and love your name! 😉

  2. January 29, 2010 8:06 am

    I love me some spice so I might have to try this!

  3. January 29, 2010 8:53 am

    Hi Sophie, I love Jerk Chicken too. Last year I planned a vacation just to get the real thing. What I discovered was that there is only one place to get the “real thing” (and that’s Boston Beach). Every other place in Jamaica relies on sauce. Only Boston Beach (Jerk Chicken’s Birthplace) marinades it properly so you get all the flavor without relying on “pour from the table” sauce.

    My suggestions would be to use Cider Vinegar instead or Red Vinegar, add 2 tablespoons grated ginger root, 3 cloves of garlic, and in addition to your regular onion, add a bunch of scallions. Also, Cayenne would be a much better substitute that chili powder. Also, I would go with 2 habannero chilis. Also the chicken needs to be marinated overnight. When the weather turns warmer, slow BBQ over indirect heat for 2 hours.

    Also, I reserve some of the same marinade, adding a little extra cider vinegar to make a “pour from the table” sauce.

    Still, of course, not as good as Boston Beach, but I’ll keep working on it when the weather turns warmer.

    • January 29, 2010 9:16 am

      Thanks for the advice! I’ll definitely try some of your suggestions next time. It doesn’t help that I’ve never had “real Jamaican jerk chicken”, so I just took cues from about 10 recipes I read. I’m always up for improving a dish though!

Leave a Reply

