Skip to content

Lazy Buffalo Chicken

January 31, 2010

Today was a perfectly lazy Sunday. We slept in, went to a diner for breakfast, and I met up with my friend Alissa in Coolidge Corner to peruse one of my favorite stores, Brookline Booksmith, and indulge in a Starbucks Cinnamon Dulce Latte. The Brookline Booksmith has a great used book section; I found a copy of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, and Alissa found 5 books that she wanted! Wonderful, wonderful.

Tonight I wanted an almost equally-effortless dinner, so I decided to make Buffalo Chicken Meatballs, as seen on We Are Not Martha. Due to my obsession with chicken wings this recipe immediately caught my attention. A quick meal for a slow night, I prepped everything before I left the house so when I got home I just threw the potatoes on to boil and put the meatballs in the oven. As recommended, I used my beloved Frank’s Red Hot as the wing sauce…if anything is the perfect hot sauce, its Frank’s!

There was no recipe for the blue cheese mashed potatoes, so I made up my own! Here it is:

Blue Cheese Sweet Potato Mash

Cut up 1.5 lbs sweet potatoes (about 2 large ones) and boil in water until soft. Drain and put back in the pot.

Mash the potatoes with 1 tablespoon of butter, 1/2 cup of milk or cream (I used the milk from our pancakes yesterday), and about 4 oz of blue cheese (more of less, depending on how cheesy you like it). I then mixed in some cayenne pepper, allspice, nutmeg, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mash to your hearts content!

Serve with the Buffalo chicken meatballs and some veggies! Such a simple, wonderful and flavorful Sunday meal.

[Meal costs: 1/2 bag mixed frozen veggies $.75, 1 lb ground turkey $2.99, Frank’s (1/4 bottle) $.65, Blue cheese $2.24, 1.5 lb sweet potatoes $1.85. Total: $8.48 for 2 people with leftovers.]

It was a great Sunday night meal, since Z has a ton of reading to do and I have some work to do of my own. I can’t believe another weekend is over already…I just keep thinking that with each weekend passing, spring is getting closer and closer! Have a good night everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 10:10 pm

    Oh yum! Blue cheese is intensely good.

  2. February 1, 2010 10:27 am

    oh wow, that meal sounds pretty incredible!

  3. February 1, 2010 3:03 pm

    Haha, I just posted my own version of meatballs, too. Yours look amazing…mmm buffalo sauce!
    But that blue cheese sweet potato mash? INCREDIBLE!

  4. February 2, 2010 8:31 pm

    that sounds amazing! i need to try that sweet potato mash.

Leave a Reply

