Skip to content

Post Workout Bars

February 3, 2010

Tonight was our (now official) Wednesday Date Night. We think it is important to have date nights to have a time to catch up without school work (or too much blogging!) and Hump Day offers the perfect break in the middle of the week. Tonight we went back to The Avenue like we did last week, but this time we made it for the 30 cent wings! Everything tastes better when it is cheap 🙂 I told Z that I couldn’t eat wings at the same place again since our Hunt for the Perfect Wing was not complete! Tonight they were not as crispy, and lost half a point in our book.

Z and I have both realized that when we get home from the gym before dinner we are starving!! Z’s problem is that he gets home way earlier and needs to eat something substantial before dinner, my problem is that I get home and have to make dinner, so end up snacking on whatever cheese/meat/spoonfuls of peanut butter  so much so that I am almost full by the time the meal makes it to the table. This isn’t helpful for our healthy diets, or for the enjoyment of our nightly yumventure, so this is my attempt at a solution.

Homemade granola and protein bars have been going around the blogosphere, particularly those with an oatmeal base. As a side note, oatmeal itself does not contain gluten, but is frequently made in processing plants where other wheat/gluten products are made, and thus gets contaminated. Since I am not highly sensitive I do OK with oats, and figured by making my own post-workout bars I could avoid any additives that would affect me in worse ways a teeny bit of gluten would.

While enjoying some red wine with Z, I whipped these babies up. I used the following ingredients,  mixed them together, popped them in a pan, and then into the oven at 400*:

1 cup oats

1/2 cup protein powder (I used vegetable protein powder)

1/4 cup raisins

2 egg whites

1 cup water

As I was mixing everything together I immediately notice my mistake: using instant oats. I let those things stand for a second with the water and they were already “cooked”. The mixture turned much more into a dough  than a hearty oat-y mix, but I threw it in the oven anyway, as an experiment.

The “bars” just tasted like unflavored oatmeal and had the texture of a doughy bread. Not bad necessarily, but not quite what I was looking for. However, Z and I are still going to give these a try as a post-workout snack and report back on the results. This weekend I hope to pick up some non-instant oats and try it again, maybe adding some cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice to give it a bit more flavor! Maybe not the most exciting yumventure ever, but if they help our snacking habits it will be well worth it!

A delicious meal (hopefully) to come tomorrow. Happy Hump Day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 10:12 am

    The texture of those bars sounds really interesting…too bad the flavor wasn’t awesome 🙂

  2. February 4, 2010 2:00 pm

    They sure do look great… At first I thought the raisins were chocolate chips… Maybe add some almond butter and chocolate chips next time?

    • February 4, 2010 4:08 pm

      Great idea!! I definitely need to add some flavor, almond butter would be awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Kicking the Snack Attack « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

