Skip to content

Kicking the Snack Attack

February 5, 2010

Happy Friday! It’s going to be a busy weekend, including huge  laughs during the Magners Comedy Festival. I am super psyched, firstly because its Magners (gluten free + most awesome cider EVER) and secondly for the New York vs. Boston showdown, though Z and I will definitely have to watch our backs 😉 A busy night =  no time for cooking or fun recipes. But much more to come over the next couple of days! So for now I’ll leave you with this:

I have read a lot of articles lately about the difficulty of  stopping the snack attack. I have always had a problem with this too! Now that I am older, and wiser (debatable? 🙂 ) , I have picked up some tricks along the way that keep me in line.

1.) Decaf Coffee.

I am a caffeine addict! In college I would often choose a Red Bull over a beer (culminating in a night where I had 6 Red Bulls. I really don’t drink them anymore because of that. Oh, to be 19 again!). Especially while sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day, I get bored and either hop downstairs to Starbucks or use our free Flavia coffee maker. Coffee itself isn’t necessarily bad for you (and actually even has health benefits) but drinking 4+ cups a day gives you the jitters.  Now I have 1 cup of coffee when I get to work, and whenever I want a “I’m Bored Drink” I get decaf instead. It satisfies my coffee craving without the caffeine. I know it would be better to sip on some green tea, but I am a work in progress. 🙂

2.) Eat breakfast at work.

I used to eat breakfast when I woke up, then get to work an hour later, and by 10 am I was ready for lunch! Now I pack my breakfast along with my lunch, and once I get to work I settle in and eat while checking my emails. It holds off my hunger for longer, so I don’t end up snacking.

3.) Don’t carry change. And keep fruit at your desk.

This nixes the vending machine junkie! Empty your pockets of change every night when you get home (Z and I have a bowl in our entry way) and the next day you won’t have the coinage to buy that bag of chips. Somehow a few dimes and nickles are easier to spend than a crisp dollar bill. And if you have a craving to go to the calorie machine, if you keep some fruit on your desk there is always something to munch on. I tend have an apple and a banana around so I can beat the snack monster without even leaving my desk.

4.) Homemade protein bars.

Protein and granola bars are everywhere and you can wind up spending a ton of money on a bar loaded with sugar and fat.  Not all power bars are equal! On the other hand, you could nix your pre- or post-workout snack, come home famished, and eat anything in your kitchen until dinner is ready…and then eat dinner!  As you all saw the other day, I made my first homemade protein bars! They weren’t too shabby, but I’m going to give them another go this weekend. Having them has made a difference! I snack on one on the bus ride home, and after I am showered and ready to make dinner I am still not hungry enough to grab a spoon and the peanut butter jar. Not only have I stopped eating mindlessly (terrible habit I have) but I also enjoy my dinners more! Double win! I also know exactly what goes in to them, and can make them with way less sugar and fat than the processed bars, so they are better for you too!

5.) Keep things off the shopping list.

Last week I went into detail about my Meal Plan Game Plan. Making a shopping list is key. I walk into the supermarket knowing what I need to buy for the week and I won’t deffer from it. That includes the cookie aisle! Not to say that I don’t occasionally buy myself treats (like Tostitos Hint of Lime tortilla chips, aka crack chips) but I don’t buy them on my regular trip to the market. If they are in the house I will eat the whole bag in 2 days (sooooo good!) even if I am not craving them. If I crave a special snack, I make a special trip. Not only does this make sure that I eat less of the “special occasion treats”, but it also makes me think more about eating them. Do I really want to go to the store when there is a Boston blizzard outside? Maybe not.

I hope some of these tricks are useful. They are baby steps that  help me out a lot 🙂 And they are all doable without being ridiculous!

I hope you all have a great Friday night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 9:56 am

    I’m a snack-a-holic as well! I love potato chips (or anything crunchy) and can’t keep an open bag in my house for longer than a few days. I stopped buying chips and started buying pretzels, thinking I wouldn’t eat as much. Nope! I had to stop buying pretzels as well. I liked your tip about emptying the change from your pockets – it presents unnecessary bad snackage and when you go to deposit your change jar, you feel like you’re rich!

    It was nice to meet you yesterday. I hope to see you again very soon!

    -Nicole

  2. February 7, 2010 3:16 pm

    haha, I stopped into AC Moore today to get some regular old unfinished wood frames – I decided I need to build a lightbox too. Even though I actually have one, I think this one will be new and improved 🙂

Leave a Reply

