Skip to content

Monday, Monday

February 8, 2010

This weekend was such a whirl wind, I can’t believe its Monday already (and that Monday is, now, almost over)!

I had been debating all week whether to go back to Body Pump class. Last time it put me out of commission for 3 days!! I absolutely loved it, though, and would like to make it a part of my fitness routine. I told my quads I would never forget them, and since they obviously are not getting much of a workout (due to the extreme physical pain they gave me after about 50 squats) I decided to give Body Pump another go! To make up for the missed after work cardio, I went to the gym during lunch and ran 2.5 miles! I must be a pent up powerhouse after my pretty weak gym time last week! 3 miles, here I come πŸ™‚

The regular teacher is out having surgery, so when I walked into class I came face to face with a neon tank top wearing cross between Arnold Schwarzenegger and Johnny Bravo. Seriously, this guy was a riot, and an awesome instructor. He was definitely German, definitely a body builder, and definitely made us work our butts off! I took it easier than I did last week, and used some lighter weights and didn’t push myself too hard if the lunges became difficult. I figure I will get used to the routine, meet my 3 mile goal, and then push myself in Body Pump. The instructor told us that if we worked hard he would do a dance for us at the end…and when the final song “Billie Jean” came on, he spun around and moon walked across the floor! A round of applause was necessary — I hope he is teaching again next week. The beach…is thatta way! πŸ™‚

Now that I am taking classes on Mondays, Z is in charge of dinner. So from now on Mondays will be “Z’s Quick and Manly Meal” series! Tonight we had burritos, which were great!

He even wanted it on the blog, so he made it look nice πŸ™‚

All rolled up!

These burritos had a ground turkey and black bean filling, with some fat free cheddar, sour cream, and I threw in some frozen veggie mix! They were wrapped in a brown rice tortilla from Trader Joe’s. It was the perfect thing to come home to after a hard workout.

I also experimented making Power Bars, Round 2. For these ones I used the following:

1 cup rolled oats

2 egg whites, lightly whipped

1/2 cup craisins

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup protein powder

1/4 cup water

Cook in a 400* oven for 15 minutes.

The texture of these came out way better, but the flavor still wasn’t there. I might add some agave nectar or honey instead of the sugar next time. It has also been suggested to add some peanut or almond butter, which would be a very tasty treat!

One problem: when making protein bars, don’t rush and remember to grease the pan before cooking. These babies were a pain to get out!

I did some shopping today:

Let’s see if I can turn these bad boys into a makeshift light box! Wish me luck! I hope everyone had a good Monday.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 9:55 pm

    I am impressed with Z’s quick and manly meal–I doubt it would occur to my boyfriend to cook even that much! That’s why I’m in charge where the kitchen is concerned. πŸ˜‰

  2. February 9, 2010 8:03 am

    Haha! That sounds like it was a fun class. The instructor can really make a class worthwhile.

  3. bridgetwickes permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:42 am

    I want that guy to teach my Body Pump class!!! He sounds hilarious!!
    MMm burriots! So good, and so guy-friendly πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Simplicity « Yumventures
  2. Harvest Roast with Steak « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

