Skip to content

Superbowl Day!

February 8, 2010

Hi everyone, and Happy Superbowl! I just got home from watching the game, and am so excited that the Saints won! My family’s closest friends are from New Orleans, and I had so much fun cheering for them and watching  them win their first Superbowl in franchise history =)

This morning was Pancake Day, and my turn to come up with a delicious pancake recipe. Z and I decided that we would take turns  deciding what pancakes we will indulge in. With his approval, I chose Carrot Cake Pancakes this week.

I love carrot cake, but don’t eat much of it because of my gluten free lifestyle. I have seen a few recipes for carrot cake pancakes, and thought I should give it a whirl =) In my eyes it was a little strange eating something that tastes so much like a dessert for breakfast, but it was so enjoyable I will forget about that one complication!

We were out of my Bob’s Red Mill Pancake Mix, so this week we bought the Gluten Free Pantry’s Brown Rice and Pancake Waffle Mix.

#1 bummer about this mix…its like a sad potato chip bag:

Only half full! Bob’s Red Mill mix lasted for 3.5 weeks, but this one will only last for 2, and was more expensive!

I wanted this  weeks pancakes to be fluffier than the usual, so I added some baking powder to the mix to make it self-raising. This is an ingredient that you can leave out or add a tablespoon of, depending on your desired pancake height.

Carrot Cake Pancakes

1 batch favorite pancake mix

1 tsp baking powder (optional)

1-2 carrots, grated

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp ginger

1/4 cup raisins

Mix everything together and cook into delicious pancake goodness!

Cream Cheese “Frosting”

3 Tbsp cream cheese (we got 1 tub of cream cheese from Dunkin Donuts, so we wouldn’t have extra to indulge in =) )

1 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp milk

Mix everything together and adjust ingredients to desired consistency.Drizzle atop cooked pancakes.

These pancakes were amazing!  I loved the different topping rather than syrup or agave nectar, and the carrot and raisins really brought another dimension to the meal. We also really enjoyed the Gluten Free Pancake Mix. Though it was more expensive than Bob’s Red Mill, we felt that it had more of the texture of real pancakes, and Z found it easier to work with when it came to the cooking/flipping aspect. A round of applause for these!

Later…..

Tonight I planned on going to my friend Alissa’s apartment, but Z has a memo due for a class and had to stay home to study 😦 I couldn’t let him go without a Superbowl meal, so I whipped up a quick dinner before heading out. And what better for the Superbowl than Buffalo chicken?!?

Buffalo Chicken Soft Tacos

1 – 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded

1/2 cup hot sauce (suggested, Frank’s Red Hot)

8 corn tortillas

Cheddar Cheese

These are so easy to make! I took the shredded chicken and warmed it for a few minutes in some hot sauce.

On each half of a corn tortilla, place some of the Buffalo chicken and a touch of cheddar cheese. Bend in half (the tortilla will probably break, but that’s OK). Line all of the tacos up on a baking sheet and put in the oven at 400* for 10 minutes, or until the cheese melts.

Serve with a blue cheese dip and some cool lettuce and cucumber salad.

It was the perfect pre-Superbowl meal, without a ton of calories (I used fat-free cheddar and for  the blue cheese sauce: fat free sour cream and blue cheese). Plus it was super filling, so once I got to my friends house I didn’t want to snack on all the food they had around!

Tomorrow I am hoping to pick up some vellum for my homemade light box! Now, time for bed =) Go Saints…WHO DAT!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 9:39 am

    It was great meeting you at the photography seminar. Thanks for the yummy meringues!

  2. February 8, 2010 1:14 pm

    Good solution for the buffalo chicken soft tacos. All wings were sold out at my supermarket for 3 or 4 days beforehand. In the end, I chose to abandon the buffalo wings and went with a stuffed beef tenderloin. Hardly superbowl fare, but nobody complained.

  3. eaternotarunner permalink
    February 8, 2010 2:26 pm

    Those pancakes look amazing! Definitely adding carrots to my pancakes next time 🙂

  4. February 8, 2010 6:17 pm

    Carrot cake is my absolute favorite kind of cake, so I would love your pancakes – yum!

    I can’t wait to see your light box too. I really want to set a new larger one up now!

  5. February 8, 2010 7:57 pm

    Buffalo chicken tacos are a reallyyyy good idea! I definitely need to try that. Also, carrots in pancakes sounds awesome!

    It was great to meet you on Saturday 🙂 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Black Bean Fiesta! « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

