Skip to content

“Snow Day”

February 10, 2010

I say “snow day” in quotes because, after getting out of work at 12 to prepare for The Blizzard of 2010 we maybe have 1/2 an inch on the ground! Not that I’m complaining, I spent the afternoon watching a movie, going to the gym, and watching the Syracuse UConn game, which almost gave me a heart attack. Luckily Syracuse won!! Let’s Go Orange!

To celebrate Z handing in his paper (finally!) and us both having a half day, we yumventured on into our Hunt for the Perfect Wing. We headed over to The Joshua Tree in Allston for their half-price menu and to watch the game.

I had only heard things about the Joshua Tree from weekend adventures, and it always sounded like a drunken dance party. To watch a game, however, it was awesome! Syracuse and UConn have a huge rivalry (for those of you who don’t follow college basketball) and the bar was pretty much divided half and half. It was great to have other people in orange running around and cheering! The bar has a ton of TV screens and at first they were playing multiple games, but when they realized everyone was there to watch SU they switched all of them over to ESPN. It was a giant orange frenzy!

I, of course, ordered the wings and a Magners. Joshua Tree offers their menu half-price from 6-9 every night, as well as has a variety of meal deals throughout the week (for example, buy 1 get 1 burger with the purchase of 2 drinks). At about 6:05 pm, I chowed into my first wing.

These were pretty good! They were very meaty, which was great, but not quite as crispy as I would like. They were also not breaded (a plus) and they come with 10 in a small size instead of the usual 6 or 7, so no qualms sharing 🙂 Z tried one two, and we had an intense discussion about the sauce to wing ratio. The problem was, they just weren’t saucy enough! They had a dry buffalo, almost smoky flavor to them. Good, but not great.

Then, genius idea! I ordered a side of the buffalo sauce. Then, those were some good wings!

Still lacking on the  crispiness, but the taste was way better. It reminded me of the episode of Pete and Pete (bringing it back old school!) where the Dad realizes you have to be messy when you eat wings. These were definitely 5 napkin wings, and well worth it. Plus their orange color kinda reminds me of something else I love

Definitely the best wings to date, though they are almost on par with The Avenue. Everywhere is lacking the crisp! I have to hunt more.

To top it all off, Z ordered the most amazing dessert ever!

Deep fried Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and ice cream! That’s right…inside each of those egg rolls are two melty peanut butter and chocolaty amazingness. My yum!!!! I obviously can’t eat the outside, but when you cut them the Reese’s lava flows out, so I scooped them up with the cream. Oh My Reese’s!!! I highly recommend these.

All in all, a successful snow day! I hope everyone else enjoyed themselves =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:06 am

    Wow, those fried Reeses’s look amazing! How much of the spaghetti squash do you eat yourself? I usually eat one half and give the other half to my bf, but I’m not sure if that’s the correct portion sizing. Just curious thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Ode to Salad Dressing « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

