Skip to content

To the Core

February 12, 2010

I am so excited for this weekend! Z and I have a fun afternoon planned with some friends tomorrow, then its Valentine’s Day, and a 3 day weekend, and I have an errands list about a mile long that I can finally put a dent in! I am a huge dork for loving my errands list, but there is nothing better than crossing off things as you do them.

The weekend is already off to a great start, when I got these at work:

So beautiful! And Z told me I wasn’t getting flowers this year 🙂 Best. Boyfriend. Ever.

Since we are having leftover chili for dinner tonight, I thought I would talk about my new fitness goal, since I reached my 3 mile goal yesterday!

While I want to continue running, I don’t want to push myself too hard too fast, so I am going to keep running as I have been and work on making it an “easy 3 miles”, rather than pushing myself to reach it. Not too exciting, but hopefully I’ll have another running goal in the future 🙂

I love yoga and have always enjoyed the stretches and sun salutations. But there are two things I always have a problem with:

Plank Pose

Boat Pose

Photo credit: yoga.about.com

The thing is, I don’t have a strong core. I have a hard time holding myself up for the plank, and I cannot even nearly do the boat pose to save my life!

Through some research I have learned that core building isn’t just about doing crunches, but a variety of exercises that target both your abdominals and your obliques (those muscles on the sides of your back). Looking for a good routine, I found  a 15-minute abs workout on sparkpeople.com and I thought it was great! I have never done core workouts more than the usual crunch-up-crunch-down, so this should be a challenge. Plus it has moves that works both the abs and obliques — score! I’m calling this my To The Core Challenge. Over the next 30 days I will:

-Complete SparkPeople 15-minute abs workout 5 times a week

-Time how long I can hold a plank pose once a week

Stretch for longer before and after workouts (to help my legs so in the air for that boat pose…silly hamstrings!)

At the end of 30 days, my goal is to be able to hold a plank for a minute and do a boat pose. Anyone else who wants to join in with me, should!

Sorry no food post today, but never fear, this is going to be a yumventures kind of weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

