Skip to content

Steak Dinner and Peanut Butter Dessert

February 15, 2010

Our Valentine’s Day dinner can only be described as decadence. And that’s the way I like to celebrate πŸ™‚

We started off with some Schloss Beibrich champagne from Trader Joe’s.

I actually really liked this! It is actually a “German sparkling wine” rather than a champagne. It sells for a mere $4.99, but is light, crisp, and fruity. It is not as heavy as my usual go-to cheap champagne, Andre. I liked this one a lot better πŸ™‚

We also snacked on the blue cheese we bought at Haymarket on Saturday.

This blue cheese was phenomenal. It had the great blue cheese stink but the taste wasn’t as harsh. It was creamy and flavorful. I was going to use this in a meal for this week, but once I had a taste I realized it is too good to add to a recipe, and must be enjoyed by itself and a good glass of champagne. My favorite parts of meals are always the appetizers, that this was perfection.

Z was the chef for the night and cooked up one of his favorite meals: steak and potatoes. Steak was on sale at Stop and Shop this week, so it was a great buy! Because it probably wasn’t the best cut of meat (due to the low price) Z tenderized it by poking it all over with a knife. It really paid off in the end!

We hardly ever eat red meat, so we figured it was okay to indulge for the evening. Z spiced it up with some, salt, pepper, and herbs. We also took the baby potatoes we bought at Haymarket, boiled them, and added them to a pan along with whole cloves of garlic, dill, and butter, and put them in the oven to crisp up.

Z also sauteed some mushrooms and onions (both also from Haymarket) to serve atop our steak.

When the meal was ready, we enjoyed it with some Trader Joe’s (Charles Shaw) Merlot.

The steak was cooked perfectly on our George Forman grill! I love my steak pink in the middle, and it couldn’t have been more tender.

Yum! This meal was simple and tasty…the seasonings really made all of the flavors pop! And personally I don’t think anything could be better than roasted garlic.

I obviously hated it πŸ™‚

For dessert I made something Z would love: Peanut Butter Brownies. He loves the combination of peanut butter and chocolate…who doesn’t?!

Peanut Butter Brownies (gluten free)

Brownies (adapted from Katherine Hepburn’s gluten-free brownie recipe, cut in half):

4 tablespoons butter

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate

1/2 cup sugar

1Β  egg

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 teaspoon fine salt

1/8 cup Gluten-Free Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1/8 teaspoonΒ  xanthan gum

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 325 degrees
Melt butter and chocolate either on stove or in microwave. In a separate bowl, beat the egg, sugar, and vanilla together. Add the chocolate mixture to the egg mixture.

Add dry ingredients and blend well.

Pour into a 8×4 baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Peanut Butter Frosting (adapted from Recipezaar.com)

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup peanut butter

2 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream together the butter and peanut butter. Add 1/2 of the sugar and the vanilla and blend. Add rest of sugar to taste.

When the brownies have cooled, spread peanut butter frosting over top and refrigerate until it sets. Shave dart chocolate over top, cut and serve.

In all honesty, I messed up this dessert. I tried to make it healthier by using butter and sugar substitutes. It made them taste soapy. Also, my pan was a 9×5, rather than a 8×4, and my brownies turned out way too thin. I tried to compensate for the lack of brownie fitness by loading up on the peanut butter frosting, but it became overwhelming. Next time I would make a whole batch to have thicker brownies (doubling the recipe I wrote above) and using full-fat and sugar everything. I guess if you are making dessert, you might as well make it right πŸ™‚ I definitely recommend trying the recipe, though, there is a lot of potential in these little guys!

All in all, it was a wonderful Valentine’s Day. Last year Z and I spent the day talking over Skype (he was still in Australia) so it was nice to be able to spend the time together. Now I am off to enjoy my 3 day weekend!!

I hope you all had a great Valentine’s Day ❀

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 11:17 am

    looks like a delicious dinner! and the flowers are just gorgeous πŸ™‚

  2. February 16, 2010 12:20 pm

    thanks for finding my blog and when i was reading your post and my 3 yr old saw your profile pics, she goes, oh mommy that lady is wearing a pretty party dress, she must be going out to a fun party.

    LOL
    πŸ™‚

    • February 16, 2010 4:10 pm

      Awwwww, your daughter is adorable! I wanted her birthday tutu, a much better party dress than mine =)

  3. February 18, 2010 12:11 am

    Sounds like you had the perfect celebration! I’m sorry the brownies didn’t turn out well – that is one thick layer of frosting that I have a feeling I would like though… πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Simplicity « Yumventures
  2. Harvest Roast with Steak « Yumventures
  3. “You Never Make Dessert” « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

