Skip to content

My First Green Monster

February 17, 2010

After last week’s “snow day” it was nice to wake up to this outside:

There is nothing like dawn the morning after a snowstorm. I had to be at work at 7 am so I could leave early to attend an event with Z, and the sight of the snow laden branches made me a little less angry that I was waiting for the bus before I would normally wake up!

Recently I have been toying with the idea of green monsters. If you don’t know what a green monster is, it is a smoothie made up of greens (usually spinach or kale), protein (vegan or raw protein powder) and other things like bananas and almond milk. It is a typical start to the day for many health enthusiasts. Some people prefer to juice their ingredients, removing the fiber and consuming pure nutrients, while others enjoy the added fiber to their daily meal by blending everything together. Either way, you are drinking a glowing green beverage!

Because of the raw nutrients and pureness of the drink it is power packed with good energy. Yes, the idea of a spinach smoothie sounds disgusting to many people, but after reading blog after blog by people who swear by them, especially Angela who has a whole site dedicated to them, I thought it was finally time to give them a try.

I woke up a few minutes earlier 2 days ago, when I made my first green monster. In a blender I added 1 cup of spinach, 2 tablespoons of vegetable protein powder, 1 cup of milk, and 1 sliced banana. I just blended, poured into my travel mug, and headed off to work!

Wow, that’s green!

The result: pretty tasty! I could definitely taste the spinach in mine, though I used skim cow’s milk (which I hardly ever drink, we just had some around). I think it would taste much better with some vanilla almond or rice milk, to give it that added smoothie sweetness. The most noticeable taste, however, was the banana. And since many smoothies have a banana base, it made the drink not so strange, but delicious! It was a little thick for my palate; next time I will add more liquid to thin it out, or perhaps some crushed ice that would melt as the day went on. I don’t like having to chew my drinks 🙂

The more amazing result, however, was not that it actually tasted good, but was how I felt! I sipped on this baby all morning and was full for the entire time. It was thick and creamy and satisfying. I almost skipped my morning cup of coffee (I said almost!) because I felt more energy than I usually have in the morning. Maybe those enzymes made a bee line to my blood stream!

Now that I have tried this once, I am so curious about what would happen if I drank one every day. I have seen people switch to these and get healthier looking skin, tons more energy, and even healthier digestive tracts! I highly suggest that if you are looking for a change to your morning routine, give green monsters a chance! I loved this new yumventure and will definitely keep it as part of my routine 🙂

***********************************************

On a side note: tonight I attended a talk by one of Z’s friend’s, Shannon Meehan, who is doing a book tour for his book, Beyond Duty. Shannon is an Iraq veteran and writes about his experience oversees and his return home. I highly recommend the book or seeing Shannon speak because it gives a view that we don’t normally see in the media: from the eyes of a soldier. No matter what my (or your) stance is on the war, Shannon’s talk was eye opening and touched my heart. For someone who is only a few years older than I am, he has experienced so much in the years that he served, and now that he is medically retired from the armed forces he is able to reflect on his experiences unlike anyone I have ever heard speak about war. I hope some of you will check it out and be moved in the same way I was. You can check out his website at www.beyond-duty.com.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 9:42 pm

    Green smoothies are great! I juice every morning, but sometimes if I have the time I’ll follow it up with a smoothie made from the leftover juicer pulp. By the time you add good stuff like banana or pro powder, it’s really not so painful whatsoever. 🙂

  2. February 18, 2010 12:09 am

    I’ve been meaning to make a Green Monster too! I think Apolinaras would love it because he’s such a health nut, but I wasn’t so sure I would like it, so it’s nice to hear your positive review!

  3. February 18, 2010 7:20 am

    I still haven’t tried a green monster either but want to. I just don’t drink many smoothies.

  4. February 18, 2010 10:50 am

    glad you jumped on the green bandwagon!

Leave a Reply

