Skip to content

Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

February 18, 2010

I got a call at noon today from Z — he’s sick! The poor thing must have caught a nasty stomach bug from evil law school! Right now he is napping and only drinking water, so tonight was dinner for one. It was so strange just cooking for myself (and without his company!). I haven’t done that since I lived by myself my first year out of college! I tried to think back about some of my go-to single girl meals, and the first thing to come to my head: stir fry.

Stir fry is so sublimely easy, and with Stop and Shop making a pretty great frozen stir fry veggie mix nowadays the meal takes as long to make as it takes your rice to cook! Unless you do minute microwave rice but, well, you get the picture 🙂

The peanut sauce I have to attribute to my friend Jamie. Pasta with peanut sauce has always been her go-to “I have no time to do anything” meal; it’s filling, healthful, and flavorful! I decided to take her peanut sauce and give it my old stir fry twist. Aw, I miss being her roommate at times like these! (Of course, I would have to have Z there too 🙂 )

Jamie’s Peanut Sauce

1 tablespoon of peanut butter (smooth or crunchy, though smooth seems to work a little better)

1/2 cup of chicken stock

2 tablespoons of soy sauce

Cayenne pepper to taste (we like it spicy!)

In a small saucepan, heat up the chicken stock. Add the peanut butter and stir until it melts. Add the soy sauce and cayenne pepper, then cook until it reaches the consistency you like. It will start out thinner, and slowly work to a thicker, more intensely flavored sauce, and if you leave it long enough it would be a great sauce for dipping! If it gets to thick, add a bit more stock back in. When its right, take it off the heat!

Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

1 serving rice

2 chicken tenders

1 onion

1/2 pack of frozen stir fry veggies (or fresh ones, your choice! I went the convenient route)

1 serving Jamie’s Peanut Sauce

Chop the onion and saute until it is soft. Cut up the chicken tenders into bite-sized cubes and add to the onions. Cook until no longer pink in the middle.

Add the vegetables, stir, and cover the pan for 6-8 minutes. This allows the frozen veggies to steam, and requires less stirring so they won’t turn into a mushy mess.

Add the peanut sauce to the chicken veggie mixture and stir it up. Serve with rice and a drizzle of the sauce over the top.

Ok, so it may not be the prettiest meal, but it sure is tasty! I made extra for Z in case he woke up in the morning craving some carbs and protein. Stir fry is so simple, with with an extra few ingredients it can be made into something really special. I love the peanut sauce to bring out the nuttiness of the brown rice I used. For me the main thing to get right is the texture of the vegetables. Frozen veggies can be unforgiving and easily overcooked, which is why I always recommend steaming them without too much touching or fidgeting, and they should come out just right. This was a great, quick meal, even though I miss my dinner buddy. Get well soon, Z!

Tomorrow’s Friday, yay!

P.S For the blog round-up: check out Kerstin and Sophia’s awesome giveaways and Angela’s fun contest this week! Also click around Elina’s site, all of her proceeds this month are going to Haiti relief 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 9:29 pm

    Sorry to hear that man-sickness has invaded your home. That’s no fun! Hope he gets better soon.

    I love anything peanut flavored too. Ironically, I cooked for myself tonight too since my hubs was out and I made my favorite Thai peanut turkey burgers. I was going to send the leftovers with him for lunch tomorrow but I think I’d rather have them myself!

  2. February 19, 2010 12:03 am

    I’m not a big fan of peanutty desserts, but I LOVe it in savory dishes! I think it looks very, very tasty…don’t put yourself down! 🙂

    Thanks for the link, girl!

  3. February 22, 2010 9:54 am

    This sounds simple and delicious. Thanks for the peanut sauce recipe!

Leave a Reply

