Skip to content

Harvest Roast with Steak

February 22, 2010

I’m back! And had an amaaaazing weekend with my friends! It went by way too fast, and I already can’t wait to see those girls again. I miss them so much, sometimes I wish we were all back at Syracuse living down the hall from each other. I’m so glad we have our official reunion weekends lined up throughout the year. Good friends, good times, good weekend 🙂

Back to reality, and back to Body Pump today. Mr. Arnold was back (grey tank top this time…I kinda missed the neon) and gave us a great workout. And its Monday, so that means its time for another installment of Z’s Quick and Manly meals!

There is something about a roast dinner that I adore. Probably because I grew up eating a roast at least once a week, for Sunday lunch. It is an English tradition! Roast chicken, lamb, beef…I believe that roasting meat and vegetables brings out flavors that you won’t get cooking them any other way. Roasts are hearty and warming, and tonight I went back to my childhood as I stepped through the front door. If you ever want your neighbors to want to break into your house and rob you of your dinner, make a roast and stick a fan by the door. The smell is phenomenal.

Roasts are also very simple to make: season and shove in the oven. Not that they aren’t hard to mess up (overcooking the meat can be a problem) but the lack of prep work and pans lends to a perfect weeknight meal. And you can roast just about anything: chicken and brussel sprouts, pork and sweet potatoes, or tonight’s menu: steak, potatoes, and harvest veggies.

When Z and I bought our steak for Valentine’s Day it was buy one, get one free, so we had an extra steak in the freezer. Z created this amazing meal, perfect for another night when we are expecting snow.

Harvest Roast with Steak

Steak for 2, any cut

1/2 lb new potatoes

3 carrots, chopped

10 cloves of garlic (yes, we love garlic!)

1/2 lb mushrooms, cleaned

1 small onion, quartered

Salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and basil to season.

Preheat oven to 400*

Boil the new potatoes in water until fork tender. While they are boiling, cut your steak into 3/4 inch strips. Season with salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and basil. Let sit.

When potatoes are done, put in roasting pan with a little olive oil and add the garlic and onions. Put in oven.

After 10 minutes, add the mushrooms and chopped carrots. Toss around with the potatoes and garlic.

After 20 more minutes (30 minutes total) push the vegetables to one end of the pan and add the steak. Put back in the oven for 10 more minutes, or until the steak reaches the desired done-ness. (We like our medium rare, and 10 minutes plus sitting time turned out medium). The steak should be cooked and the vegetables should be nicely roasted and crispy.

Serve! If you desire, remove everything from the pan, pour in a little wine, and get all the juicy bits off of the bottom to make a sauce. We didn’t do this, but I know my Mom would have!

This was the perfect winter meal. Z seasoned the steak perfectly! Everything was incredibly flavorful, since essentially you bring out the flavors of the vegetables, rather than adding extra flavor to them. Simple and delicious. Plus, what is better than roast garlic?!

I asked Z what he wanted to name this dish, and here are something things he came up with: Stick-less Kabob, Crockpot-Less Roast, Badger Roast (?!). He had me on the floor laughing. I think I found something a little more suitable 🙂

I can’t believe it’s the last full week of February! I hope everyone had a great weekend. And thanks again, Cara, for your great guest post!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 4:46 am

    Body Pump sounds like a it was a killer class. Glad you had a fun weekend!

  2. February 23, 2010 10:35 am

    What a comforting winter meal! I love roasting meat and veggies together… yum :).

  3. February 23, 2010 1:29 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try body pump! Sounds hard though!!
    And delicious meat and roasted veggies!

  4. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    February 23, 2010 4:42 pm

    those veggies look deeeelightful! YUM.

Leave a Reply

