Skip to content

$10 Chili

March 1, 2010

I made this baby last night for dinner, and since tonight is Body Pump we are having leftovers! So as not to steal Z’s Quick and Manly meals thunder, I picked a recipe that he gave me. Plus, leftover chili tastes 1,000x better the next day!

Nothing says “bachelorhood” like a meal named by the amount of money it costs to make. Enter the $10 chili.

This is Z’s go-to chili recipe. He recounted to me stories of how this can be “made in one pot…which you can also eat out of. Less dishes!”. He first sent me the recipe, along with pictures, when he was in Australia. I received 5 emails as a step-by-step guideΒ  and, though I never made it for myself, it was the first thing I asked him to make me once he returned home.

Like most guys do, Z took this chili to a whole other level in my little Brooklyn kitchen. One jalapeno? Try three. “Let’s mix some sour cream into the chili for a change.” The best topping? Fritos! From the first bite you can taste the care and love he put into it — or is it all the practice from making it once a week? I guess we’ll never know πŸ™‚

I have to admit, this chili is amazing. It’s a classic. It is very adaptable to whatever kind of meat and beans you like, but we stick to the basics. The cost is also 100% true. Actually, most of the time we get everything for under $10. And it will last the both of us 2 – 3 days. If you don’t have enough for a meal towards the end, add more beans. Or turn it into burritos! Or just add way more cheese and sour cream and some tortillas and it becomes a gooey casserole. Sometimes I think if I were a guy, I would have made a great bachelor πŸ˜‰

Since this was my first time making it, I thought to name it something a little more dinner party friendly…

Red and Black Bean Chili (aka $10 Chili)

1 lb ground turkey

1 can kidney beans, drained

1 can black beans, drained

1 can diced tomatoes

1 onion

2 jalapenos (we used Thai chilis)

2 cloves of garlic

A little oil

Basil, cilantro, cumin, salt and pepper

Chop up the onion, garlic, and peppers and saute in a big pot with a little oil.

When the onions are soft, add the meat and cook it until there is not pink left.

Add the cans of beans and tomatoes, along with the seasonings to taste. I put in about 2 teaspoons of cumin, a teaspoon of basil and cilantro, and a few good grinds of S & P.

Turn the heat down to low, cover, and let simmer. The longer you simmer, the better the flavors will be.

Serve with sour cream, cheese, and fresh cilantro.

One word: mmmmmm! There is nothing like a classic dish, and the flavors cooked together so well. I especially love the cumin; it is so warm and really enhances the tomatoes. I was nervous making it for Z, since he has perfected the art of chili making, but he gave it a thumbs up! This dish is great served with rice, corn chips, or corn bread, but tonight we ate it straight up. It did not disappoint πŸ™‚ Maybe this will become the new go-to chili of couplehood instead?!

Monday is now over…hooray! Tonight I plan on relaxing and reading, things I didn’t get to do over the weekend. Maybe having an evening like this can make Mondays something to look forward to πŸ™‚

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 10:09 pm

    Sophie- not only does this look so hearty and delicious, but putting a cheap price tag on it makes it look even better!! I love that! My chili has to be like yours- thick and full of beans and veggies! Well done my friend!

  2. March 1, 2010 11:29 pm

    That chili does look freaking amazing….I’d love a bowl right now! I do adore beans, especially warmed up in a soup like that…Yum!

    But fritos as toppings? Now that’s a must-try too!

  3. March 2, 2010 9:28 pm

    Can’t go wrong with chili! Our go-to and favorite recipe actually has pumpkin in it πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Get Cooking: Vegetarian Chili « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

