Skip to content

Aloo Stir Fry

March 6, 2010

My day today is crazy! I went for a run outside for the first time since September. It is nearly 50* in Boston and the perfect time to be outside. I never realized what a difference running outside vs. running on a treadmill is! It is way harder to run outside! I barely made it 2 miles before having to stop and walk. At least now I know I need lots of practice before I want to sign up for a 5k. Then I watched the Syracuse game (we lost! Boo!) and now I’m getting ready to go and see Alice and Wonderland in 3D. I’ve never been to a 3D movie before, and I can’t contain my childlike excitement  🙂

I find that my weekends are always so much busier than my weekdays, and it can be really hard to throw a decent meal together when you have an hour and a half to cook, eat, get ready and head out the door. I spent my morning run thinking about what on Earth I could make with what we had in our fridge (since we haven’t gone food shopping for the week yet, on the list for tomorrow!) between the Cuse game and leaving for the movie. I didn’t want it to be something boring and bland, but that seemed to be what I had: potatoes and some frozen shrimp. When in doubt, throw in every spice you have!

I’ve shared my love of Indian food before, and aloo (potato) dishes are some of my favorites. The starchiness of the potatoes allows the spices to add another dimension, especially when they begin to break apart and the spices encompass every little piece. Z had been studying all day and was starving, so I rolled up my sleeves and had this baby on the table in 20 minutes. Personal record!

Aloo and Shrimp Stir Fry

1 onion, chopped

1 clove of garlic, chopped

2 potatoes, chopped into 1 inch cubes

1/2 lb frozen shrimp, defrosted

2 big handfuls of baby spinach

Curry powder

Cumin

Ginger powder

Salt and pepper

Tumeric

Cinnamon

Allspice

Boil the potatoes in water until they are folk tender.

Chop each frozen shrimp into 3 pieces, discarding the tail. Leave 6 shrimp whole.

In the meantime, put the onion and garlic in a pan with a little oil and saute until soft. When the potatoes are done, add them to the pan.

Add a dash of all the spices (I would say 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of each, depending on which flavors you like). Add the chopped shrimp and stir over a low heat until the shrimp are cooked and the spices are combined. Stir carefully as not to break up the potatoes too much.

Add the baby spinach and continue stirring carefully until soft.

In a separate pan, cook the whole shrimp until pink all the way through.

To serve, put the potato mixture on a plate and top with half of the shrimp. Serves 2.

For a quick meal, this turned out pretty well! Using so many spices is a great way to add flavor to bland ingredients. However, the potatoes were a little dry, and next time I will try to come up with an accompanying sauce. I loved the shrimp incorporated into the stir fry with the spices, and the spinach added a nice, moister texture. It was a great hearty meal to eat at an early bird time (we were chowing down by 5:30 pm) to keep us full until the movie is over.

Off we go! Have a great Saturday night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 12:04 am

    Wow Soph, this is one of the prettiest meals yet! I love how the shrimp and potatoes are standing up together!! Way to use all the ingredients in your fridge in such an awesome recipe. I love warm cinnamony, spicy flavors.

    Oh and the weather today was out of this world amazing! I felt like I could have walked forever in the sunshine. I saw Alice in Wonderland tonight too. I liked it, hope you did too!
    Have a happy Sunday!!

  2. March 7, 2010 9:25 am

    This is a beautiful meal!

    Running outside is definitely different. I’m still not back into the groove yet.

  3. March 8, 2010 10:30 am

    ooh I love the pretty colors here! I definitely need to experiment more with Indian food.

Leave a Reply

