Skip to content

Strawberries ‘n Cream

March 7, 2010

The weather is amazing again today! Sunshine and higher temperatures always put me in the best of moods. I hate that I have so many errands to do, but I plan on walking everywhere and soaking in some vitamin D.

And Alice in Wonderland was great last night! I know there has been a lot of controversy over Tim Burton’s creative license with the beloved books, but I think if you go expecting a fantasy movie with some relation to the original Alice you are in for a real treat. I loved how he went beyond the stories we all know and love and made his own interpretation of Alice’s future. I highly suggest you go and see it!

There is nothing like the coming of spring and reliving a childhood movie to make Z and I want to have some fun with our pancakes. We were walking around a nearby convenience store at midnight last night, trying to think of what to make this morning. Twinkie pancakes? Hot dog pancakes? Then we spied the winner: frozen strawberries.

I am not a huge fan of frozen fruit, I think the mushy texture is bizarre, but adding them to pancake batter they gave off the perfect sweetness. The batter turned out thinner than usual, so they were more crepe-cakes than a fluffy stack, but still delish with a beautiful, subtle light pink color.

Strawberries and Cream Pancakes

1 serving pancake mix (we used Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Pancake Mix)

1 box frozen strawberries

1/2 cup whipping cream

Defrost the strawberries and mash 3/4 of the box. Add it to the pancake mix. Cook as usual.

Whip the cream until stiff peaks form.

Serve the pancakes with the whipped cream and some of the whole strawberries left on top.

These pancakes had a light strawberry flavor. They were just perfect for the beautiful spring day! As for the TJ’s pancake mix, I can’t really tell yet how much I liked it or not. The directions on the package are to use the whole thing, making at least 12 pancakes, which is way too much for Z and me. Trying to cut the mix in half was a bit of a struggle, since the contents of the package are not listed by how many cups. I would definitely prefer if they cut down the serving sizes. Plus, trying to cut 1 and 1/3 cup of milk in half proves difficult.

Z also had some lumping issues with the batter, so ended up adding too much milk, which is why they turned out so thin. The thinness along with the strawberry juices gave these pancakes a much chewier texture, but they were still yum! Hopefully next week we will mix everything better the first time around and will get the pancakes they were meant to be!

Note: whipped cream + hot pancakes = melted whipped cream.

I can’t stay inside for too long — the sun is calling me! And tonight we are meeting up with Cara and her husband. Boy, we have had a busy weekend! 🙂

Did you see Alice in Wonderland? What did you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 7:11 pm

    Ooh, I want to see that movie! I’m glad you liked it!

    Those pancakes look good, even if they didn’t turn out as you expected!

  2. March 7, 2010 10:02 pm

    Dying to see Alice! I’ve heard it’s bizarre, but I mean, duh. Should be lots of fun on the big screen!

  3. March 7, 2010 11:30 pm

    Mmm gorgeous strawberry pancakes! I love this idea and will definitely try to recreate it soon! They remind me of the Strawberry Festival waffle I used to get for breakfast as a kid. Simply delish.
    I’m so glad you like Alice! I liked it a lot too! Tim Burton is such a visionary, I really love seeing his work.
    Hope you enjoyed the beautiful day! Have a happy Monday!

  4. March 8, 2010 11:00 am

    Oh, those look gooooood!!!

    I love all Tim Burton’s movies. He’s a genius.

  5. March 8, 2010 12:29 pm

    Mmm such a good idea. And frozen strawberries are less expensive than fresh!

    I’m seeing Alice in Wonderland on Saturday and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

