Skip to content

Pizza Pizza

March 8, 2010

Dear Boston Weather,

Please do not be lying to us that spring is finally here. I am tempted to get out my ballet flats and light jackets, but fear the 60* you gave us today was just a temptation. I hope it is not.

Love,

Sophie

I came home from Body Pump tonight in a wonderful mood. The weather today was glorious, and my review at work went really well! I am being given some more responsibilities in my department, which means things are really looking up for me šŸ™‚ And Z made a 100% Z-tastic gluten free pizza!

While most guys look at me gob-smacked when I tell them I can’t eat pizza or drink beer, when I met Z he graciously offered to make me gluten free pizza, right in my own apartment!Ā  The first time he ever made it he mixed the yeast and waited patiently for the dough to rise. He made the sauce from scratch and went to the finest Greenpoint deli for some amazing pepperoni. I hadn’t had pizza in 2 years at that point, and from my first bite I knew he was a keeper šŸ™‚

Our favorite gluten free pizza mix is Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust (which just happened to be on sale at Stop & Shop!). It has the perfect consistency: crisp, a little chewy, and very close to what a gluten filled pizza tastes like. I highly recommend everyone try this mix…GF or not!

Z has made crafting a pizza into an art, and everything about his pizzas are perfect. The crust is thin and crispy, the sauce is flavorful, and the toppings have just the right balance. He has an amazing palate, and when I walked into our apartment this evening and smelled roasted garlic and pizza dough, I knew I had just stepped into heaven.

Roasted Garlic Pizza

1 serving home made or store bought pizza dough

1 serving Z’s Homemade Pizza Sauce

1/4 cup salsa

2 cups half skim mozzarella cheese

12 cloves of garlic

1/2 large onion, sliced thinly

1/2 cup black olives, sliced

1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced

Oregano and garlic powder for seasoning

Preheat the oven to 350*. Place the garlic cloves on a tray with a little olive oil and put under the broiler.

After the garlic has been in for 20 minutes, bake your pizza dough for 10 minutes, or until the edges start to crisp up, but its still slightly soft in the middle. Remove the crust and the garlic from oven.

Heat up the pizza sauce and add the salsa. Spread in a thin layer over the hot crust.

Sprinkle the sauce with the mozzarella cheese, then the roasted garlic, onions, olives, and mushrooms. Place back in the oven for 10 more minutes, or until the cheese is bubbling.

Slice and serve topped with some oregano and garlic powder. Tell your coworkers to watch out the next day, or act as your company’s own vampire defense system.

There are a million reasons why I adore this pizza, but here are a few:

1. Is there anything better than roast garlic?

2. I love pizza I can actually eat! The crust is amazing and holds together well. Also, by making the crust thin the pizza is not so heavy, and you don’t have that “I just ate a pizza” belly. Thanks Bob’s Red Mill!

3. The balance of the garlic and onion with the mushrooms and the cheese made for the perfect flavor combination. I highly recommend it for any pizza, gluten free or not!

Another one of Z’s Quick and Manly meals that I deem a success! I feel perfectly satisfied and not pizza greasy. Who needs to go to a pizza joint when you can make a better pie yourself?

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 9:21 pm

    OOOooo Z is definitely a talented guy! I love that pizza. And two of my favorite toppings are mushrooms and black olives, so this pie is a real winner for me! I’m so glad that your review went well and that you got served a wonderful and thoughtful meal tonight! Amazing success in all aspects of life. And I’ll co-sign your letter to the weather in New England.
    Have a happy Tuesday!

  2. March 9, 2010 2:17 pm

    I love mushrooms on pizza! Sometimes I crave pizza just for the mushrooms. I wasn’t the biggest fan of that pizza crust. It had such a weird texture to me. Maybe I did it wrong šŸ˜¦

  3. March 9, 2010 2:53 pm

    Yum! I think I need Z and his “amazing palette” to come test out some of my catering trials. Oh, and you can come too šŸ™‚

  4. March 9, 2010 3:27 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    That pizza looks phenomenal :d

  5. March 10, 2010 7:30 pm

    Oh so cute! Z seems like the most amazing boyfriend. I love how he made you homemade GF pizza. It shows how much he cares and how considerate he truly is! The pizza looks insanely delicious! I love roasted garlic on anything. But one of my fave toppings for pizza is broccoli. You can’t go wrong with mushrooms either šŸ™‚

  6. March 11, 2010 6:41 pm

    Awww, how sweet he make you such yummy pizza! I really like thinner crusts too, so I can avoid the pizza belly šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

