Skip to content

Brunch for Dinner!

March 9, 2010

Today was one of those mornings where by 9 am I was ready for a nap. I overslept when I was supposed to go in to work early. And by overslept I mean was casually making sandwiches at 7:45 am when I thought to myself, “Isn’t there a reason I’m not supposed to be making lunch today?…OMG!!!” Luckily I made it in to work with about 20 seconds to spare. I ran to the bus and by the time I got to the meeting people could see I was sweating. Oh well, at least I had a free breakfast, right? šŸ™‚

Brunch is the best meal. Ever. I would like to meet the person who woke up one Sunday and thought “Its too late for breakfast, and too early for lunch, and I would like a meal that mixes both together!” Pure genius. So in my opinion one step up from breakfast for dinner is brunch for dinner. Enter huevos rancheros.

Huevos Rancheros grace the menus of many a fine brunch place. A classic Mexican breakfast dish (says Wiki), “Ranch Eggs”, it was served to rural farm workers as a mid-morning meal, usually consisting of a tortilla, chili sauce, beans, and a fried egg. Wikipedia also informed me there is another version of this dish called Huevos Divorciados (“Divorced Eggs”) where one egg is served with green salsa, one with red salsa, and they are separated by a wall of beans. As amusing as this is, tonight I stuck with the classic.

If there is a way to make Mexican flavors taste even better, a fried egg is definitely it. I love how versatile this dish is; no matter how you put the ingredients together, a little bit of everything on your fork gives you the most wonderful medley of flavors. I particularly like to order this for brunch in the summer with a bloody mary: cool and refreshing. Plus it reminds me of La Vie Boheme from RENT (“To huevos rancheros and Maya Angelou!”). Try to get that out of your head now šŸ™‚

Huevos Rancheros (1 serving)

2 6″ corn tortillas

1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 egg

1/2 cup salsa

1/2 cup black beans

1/2 cup guacamole (there weren’t any ripe avocados, so we bought ours from Habanero)

1/4 onion, chopped

Salt, pepper, and tobasco

In a dry frying pan, place one of the corn tortillas. Top with the grated cheese and the other tortilla. Turn the heat on low and cook until the cheese is melted, flipping it halfway through.

In another frying pan, spray a little Pam and fry the egg.

In a small saucepan, heat up the black beans.

Place the cheesy tortillas in the middle of the plate. Top with the fried egg. Surround with black beans.

Put the salsa, guacamole, and onion on top of the tortillas with the egg. Season with salt, pepper, and hot sauce.

Coma! (That means eat in Spanish!)

I honestly can’t think of a way you can mess up this dish. It is simple, yet elegant (until you mix everything up together in a delicious gooey mess). This is sure to be a crowd pleaser, whether you are making it for brunch or dinner!

What is your favorite thing to order for brunch? Lokal, a restaurant in Brooklyn, makes the most amazing smoked salmon scrambled eggs. I eat it every time I go there!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 10:04 pm

    That looks gorgeous! I love eggs.

    My favourite brunch place is Cora’s. It’s a chain that started in Monteal. Can’t be beat!

  2. March 9, 2010 10:23 pm

    Yum Yum Yum! I love this! The pictures are amazing. Love the plating, my talented friend!
    And can you believe I’ve never had huevos rancheros? I’m living under a rock it seems.
    I think my favorite brunch order is eggs benedict or a breakfast sandwich- bacon egg and cheese. Mmm. And you are totally right to have brunch for dinner. I would eat breakfast foods for every meal if I didn’t fear blog alienation!

  3. March 10, 2010 4:39 am

    Looks great. Your photos always look so beautiful as well šŸ™‚

    Thanks for your comment and offer to help me with the gluten stuff. I was wondering if you know of a gluten free alternative to Luna bars? Thanks again for your kind words šŸ™‚

  4. March 10, 2010 9:08 am

    looks delicious! i love the simple flavors of each ingredients, but when paired together, it’s an amazing dish.
    at brunch, i love the ‘mess’ plates or scambles with lots of veggies and hash browns.

  5. March 10, 2010 9:50 am

    What a beautiful dish! So sunny!

  6. March 10, 2010 3:04 pm

    fabulous. breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day, so i’m right there with you šŸ™‚

  7. March 10, 2010 4:08 pm

    Once again I think you’re in my head. I’ve been picturing making something a lot like this! Looks wonderful šŸ™‚

  8. March 10, 2010 7:26 pm

    What a pretty brunch! I love eggs anytime, but eggs for brunch is the best! And I keep seeing fried eggs everywhere in the blogosphere. I love seeing that bright yellow yolk – you just can’t beat it. But when you pair it with salsa and black bean, there’s nothing yummier! Looking at your pics just makes me smile šŸ™‚

  9. March 11, 2010 6:40 pm

    I’m a HUGE fan of breakfast/brunch for dinner too and your huevos rancheros look amazing! Now I’m craving eggs, so I think I’ll just have to make them for dinner tonight šŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Irish Pubs in the U.S.A. « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

