Skip to content

Top O’ The Mornin’!

March 13, 2010

I think some Irish is starting to come out in me 😉 I’m getting excited for tomorrow’s festivities, and I have a whole day to be with Z since he doesn’t have any homework! I woke up in a supremely excellent mood.

I wanted this week’s pancake day to be representative of the upcoming Irish holiday, but traditional Irish pancakes are much like the English pancakes I made a few weeks ago. Sigh. I pondered for a week what to do, how to make these pancakes really Irish, but in the end corned beef and cabbage patties didn’t sound like such a great idea.

However, savory pancakes are not something we have yet tackled on pancake day. I am a huge fan of savory pancakes (with my lack of a sweet tooth and everything). So *thinking, thinking*, Z said what could be more Irish than green pancakes, and what could be greener than spinach?

Spinach pancakes are European, but they are not Irish. Typically eaten in countries such as Sweden and Finland, they are much more of a lunch or dinner meal. Mark Bittman (one of my favorite New York Times columnists) had a very interesting article about pancakes around the world…they’re not just for breakfast! But for this girl, savory pancakes for breakfast seemed like a real treat. And these turned out to be the green monsters of pancakes!

Spinach Pancakes with Cheese Sauce adapted from Mark Bittman via Superspark

1 serving of your favorite pancake mix (we used Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Pancake Mix)
1/2 container of frozen spinach, thawed
1 teaspoon plus 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup cheddar cheese
1 cup fat free milk
1 teaspoon flour (I used Trader Joe’s All Purpose Flour Mix)
1 teaspoon butter

Take your thawed spinach and heat it in the microwave until it is heated through, about 1 minute. Put in your food processor until it is even more finely chopped. Add to pancake mix with nutmeg.

Cook pancakes as usual.

For the cheese sauce: over a low heat, melt the butter in a small sauce pan. Add the flour until it combines with the butter (a roux).

With a whisk, slowly add the milk and whisk the whole time, until a thin sauce is made (no lumps!). Add the cheddar cheese and nutmeg and stir with a spoon until the cheese is melted.

Serve atop the pancakes.

These were the healthiest pancakes I have ever eaten, and they were delicious! The spinach creates the most beautiful dark green color (see above!) and makes the batter thick and hearty.  Each pancake so was so filling! The cheese sauce was a nice accompaniment, giving extra moisture and nuttiness needed to make the spinach stand out. Don’t let anyone try to fool you — these really taste like spinach, but in the best way possible. If there is any way to eat veggies for breakfast this, my friends, is it.

It is, unfortunately, raining here in Beantown, which means a day of errands. Let’s hope its lets up for tomorrow!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 12:01 am

    Ah, you genius! I’m a savory person myself, so I would gulp these pancakes up! I only wish they were greener…wouldn’t it be cool if they were neon green? tee hee hee.

    • March 16, 2010 7:56 am

      I was actually hoping they would turn out almost neon since I processed the spinach, but no such luck! Still yummy thought 🙂

  2. March 14, 2010 11:14 am

    Soph you’re a genius! I love how creative you got with this meal! I’ve honestly never had savory pancakes but I think I would love them. Aaahhh cheese sauce too? Pure bliss.
    I love that you said “Don’t be fooled into thinking these don’t taste like spinach because they do, in the best possible way.” I paraphrased that (you said it much better) but I agree that sometimes I WANT the spinach taste. I actually love the flavor of that dark leafy green so I don’t mind it one bit. And that’s really the highlight of the little hotcakes you have here! Great recipe, I bet Daniel would love these. He’s not a huge bfast sweet-eater.
    Have a good Sunday, rain and all!

    • March 16, 2010 7:57 am

      Thanks for your comment! I love the flavor of spinach, and a ton of different greens, so sometimes that is the best flavor in the meal 🙂

  3. March 14, 2010 11:34 am

    Hey!! I love Spinach. It’s such a great addition to lots of recipies! It’s amazing how you can’t taste it in most…love it!!

  4. March 14, 2010 10:30 pm

    What a great idea! I’ve never had savory pancakes before – the spinach and cheese combo sounds awesome!

  5. March 15, 2010 1:29 pm

    oh wow, i totally have to give these a try 🙂 LOVE spinach!

Leave a Reply

