Skip to content

Feelin’ Corny

March 16, 2010

I never realized how difficult it would be to make a “real meal” when I have done minimal shopping and am scraping through the contents at the back of the cupboard. I wasn’t too concerned today, considering I am cooking for myself, but I then had the genius idea of inviting my friend Kristen to join me. With less than an hour until she was scheduled to arrive at my door, I frantically searched out something to make that was not only a complete meal, but for someone I had never cooked for before!

The two things I could find in the depths of our kitchen were some chicken tenders and a can of corn. They sat on the counter, staring up at me. I had no clue what to do! I started off slowly, seasoning the chicken with paprika and cumin and sticking it in the oven. At least I knew that would taste ok. But canned corn?

I had recently seen some recipes for latkas, since Passover is right around the corner, and as my brain frantically searched for the possibility of a corn and chicken latka (if they exist) it came to me — corn fritters.

Looking for a recipe online I discovered that many Southern corn fritters are actually served sweet, with sugar added to the batter and topped with honey, syrup, or jam. I hoped I wasn’t getting myself into a semi-fried dough fest! I decided I would have to be daring, would have to go outside my comfort zone — and create a recipe myself.

Corn Fritters

1 can corn, drained

3/4 cup flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF Blend)

1 cup milk (I used almond milk)

Salt, pepper, and cumin to taste.

Mix flour, milk, and seasoning together to form a batter similar to a pancake batter. Stir in the corn.

Heat a frying pan and spoon in the batter to create mini pancakes about 2 inches in diameter. Flip when bubbles appear on the top. Remove from heat when they are cooked through.

The first one of these guys to come out of the frying pan was a test of my own bravery. What if they were awful?! I took a careful bite, only mildly burning the roof of my mouth in the process (what can I say? I am impatient!). And…they were delicious! The sweetness of the corn rocked! The pancake batter (somehow) turned out perfectly, a subtle background to the corn that stole the show. They were light and crisp, and completely yum! I whipped up a little tomato sauce with some paprika, garlic, and cumin, and served it alongside as a hot dipping sauce. Paired with the paprika chicken and some frozen veggies, I actually managed to put out a decent (somewhat picnic-y) meal.

I have learned a lot about myself from all of the cooking I have done recently. Though my Mom probably could have made a feast with what is in my fridge (or just made me run to the store) I was proud to have thought on the fly, come up with my own recipe, and served it to someone who (I think) decently liked it! These corn fritters will definitely be making an appearance in other meals, hopefully during the summer when corn is at its peak, fresh off the cob! Actually scratch that, I will probably just eat it off the cob. We have yet to venture into my corn on the cob obsession. Another story.

Have you ever made up your own recipe on the fly? Did you win or fail?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 8:03 am

    I definitely fail when I make recipes on the fly. I think I get too excited and clumsy? lol. Those corn fritters sound SO good though, great job!

  2. March 17, 2010 8:08 am

    Wow, you are really creative!

  3. March 17, 2010 9:14 am

    What a creative recipe! I fail when I make recipes on the fly, unless of course I have really awesome random ingredients.

  4. March 17, 2010 9:15 am

    This is such an impressive impromptu meal! I can’t believe you just threw it together. I love the idea of making corn fritters- a salty sweet dough with the sweetness of the corn! Delicious!
    And you’re so right about learning about yourself when you’re making a meal and trying to creatively use the contents of a slightly bare fridge. It’s times like those that you really feel like a cook. But you kicked it up a notch with this creativity and flair! I would have just eaten chicken and corn, the fritters are a special invention.
    I’ve failed many times when I make something on the fly but I’ve learned that the few times that you truly succeed are so memorable and worthwhile that they discredit the fails!

  5. March 17, 2010 9:21 am

    Sometimes the best meals come when you have very little time and food to work with! These look really delicious…I remember my mom making us latkes when we were kids. I loved them!

  6. March 17, 2010 11:46 am

    I made a batter of chickpea flour, water, curry powder and flax meal and battered zucchini in it and fried them. I did it randomly and it actually turned out pretty decent. I’d make it again.

  7. March 17, 2010 3:11 pm

    i love going to the store, but i need to stop šŸ˜‰ i have more in my kitchen than i realize! great job pulling out a winning dinner šŸ™‚

  8. March 17, 2010 3:48 pm

    Awesome job creating such a tasty meal on the fly like that! Sounds sort of like you were on Chopped šŸ™‚ I’m already looking forward to fresh summer sweet corn – there’s nothing else like it!

  9. March 17, 2010 8:51 pm

    ha! I can’t wait to hear about your corn obsession šŸ™‚

  10. March 18, 2010 11:06 am

    Hey! Thanks for the comment on my blog! Those corn fritters look great!! And I love that they’re GF so I can make them for my husband. We were actually talking not too long ago about making corn fritters. I’ll have to tell him about these!! šŸ™‚

  11. March 18, 2010 9:04 pm

    Those corn fritters look really good! I would never have been able to come up with something like that on my own. Awesome!

  12. March 26, 2010 1:45 pm

    This Supper Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

