Skip to content

Asian Casserole

March 18, 2010

Last night was fun, even though I had to leave early due to needing to be fully functional today 🙂 We went to Sweetwater; they had a great cover band downstairs, plus it wasn’t too crowded! We pretended it way my friend’s birthday so we could request songs from the DJ, and I learned that my camera is a super survivor after it was accidentally dropped into a pint of beer! It didn’t work for the rest of the night, but this morning I put the battery in and on it came! Hooray! I want to make it a mini t-shirt saying “I Survived St. Patrick’s Day 2010”. A little much? 🙂

Tonight is my last night of dinner for one, my Mom is coming to town tomorrow! I have been doing a great job of eating my way through the remainder of our refrigerator, though now there is hardly anything left! I better stock up on some good snacks for quality mother-daughter time.

I have a confession to make: I am really not a tofu eater. I know, I have made a number of recipes using it recently, but that is due to 2 factors: 1. Its cheap and 2. Its good protein for a vegetarian meal. Tofu has always weirded me out, and so has soy in general. The hormone levels soy contains don’t make me feel comfortable eating it all the time. Plus, to be perfectly honest, I never thought it tasted that good. But with all of the recipes I have been reading lately, and my meal earlier this week, I see that tofu can taste good, and having it once in a while isn’t going to hurt. Am I becoming a convert?!

After my Lemon Crusted Tofu I still had half a block of tofu left. I wanted to try a similar dish tonight, but with a different twist. I somehow was able to think ahead at 7 am this morning, when I was hurriedly making my lunch and brushing my teeth at the same time (I kid, but you get the idea) and marinated my tofu. I wanted to make the crusted tofu again, but since I was being impatient, I came up with something using the same ingredients, but completely different.

Asian Tofu Casserole

For the marinade:

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tablespoon miso

1 teaspoon agave nectar

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 block tofu, cubed
Mix all ingredients together and pour over the cubed tofu. Let sit in the fridge, covered, until you are ready to cook!

For the casserole:

Marinated tofu

1/4 cup broccoli

1/4 cup carrots

1/2 cup frozen vegetables

1/4 cup chopped mushrooms

1/4 tamari sauce

Salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, ginger

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I put some GF bread in the food processor)

2 tablespoons miso

Turn on your oven broiler.

In a frying pan, add the tofu with the marinade plus all of the veggies. Add the tamari and seasonings to taste (I like mine spicy!). Cover the pan with a lid (or a plate as my option) and simmer on a low heat for 5 – 10 minutes, or until the veggies are cooked to your desired tenderness.

While the tofu and vegetables are cooking, mix the breadcrumbs with the miso in a small bowl.

Transfer the tofu and vegetables to a pie plate. Top with the breadcrumb miso mix.

Place under the broiler for 5 minutes, or until the breadcrumbs are golden.

If I do say so myself, this dish was a winner! The breadcrumbs on top totally made the dish! They were slightly crunchy, but also developed a soft texture with the addition of the miso which, when served, mixed together with all the vegetables and thickened up the dish to make it hearty and decadent. The tofu marinade was spot-on…the tofu soaked up the tamari and miso, making it delectable even before it was cooked! I am glad I was too lazy today to bread my tofu and put it in the oven…though I loved how the tofu nuggets were, this is a great quick alternative that gives the same effect. I will definitely make this for Z one time when he is around for dinner, but tonight I was glad to have the deliciousness all to myself 🙂

Is there any food that you feel you should like, but don’t really? My #1 hated food is blueberries…they made me sick when I was a kid, and now I cannot stomach them!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 7:55 am

    The casserole looks wonderful! I don’t really care for black olives or bok choy.

  2. March 19, 2010 8:26 am

    blueberries? really? i could probably make myself sick eating too many of them!

    • March 19, 2010 9:36 am

      I know! I hate that I hate them…its a weird conundrum!

  3. March 19, 2010 8:34 am

    Amazing casserole. I love tofu and anything broiled and breaded so this is just top notch in my book! I like the pillowy, chewiness of tofu. You’re really rocking these meals for one. Mini casseroles just scream comfort to me. And what a cute little dish!!

    I guess a food that weirds me out would be oysters. I don’t know, I just can’t bring myself to eat them. I’m very scared of the slime factor. Other than that I can’t really think of anything that I’m not in love with . Well, maybe curry powder. I don’t really like that.
    Glad your camera survived! Is it drunk today?

    • March 19, 2010 9:37 am

      I love oysters, but it took me forever to stop thinking about them and just eat them! Now I can’t get enough 🙂 I am a texture person too though, so I understand why people wouldn’t care for them. Crunch is way better than slime!

  4. March 19, 2010 8:48 am

    This sounds like such an interesting new take on the everyday casserole! It’s been quite a while since I last had tofu, but suddenly I’m craving it :).

    • March 19, 2010 9:39 am

      Thanks Lauren 🙂 You always come up with amazing dishes, I’m sure a tofu creation would be great!

  5. March 19, 2010 8:50 am

    this looks LOVELY!

    i feel i should like olives. i HATE them. I think it’s a consisnency thing? i dunno, but they make me gag!

    • March 19, 2010 9:40 am

      Do you watch How I Met Your Mother. They have “The Olive Theory”…one person in a relationship will not like olives so the other person can eat them. Sounds like it would work for you 🙂

  6. March 19, 2010 9:37 am

    The casserole looks delicious! I love all the great Asian flavors…I don’t think I’ve ever seen an Asian casserole before. Great idea!

    I know I should like bananas but the mushy factor just makes me nauseous!

  7. March 19, 2010 3:06 pm

    Sounds great! I didn’t eat tofu for a long time, because I sucked at cooking it 😉 Now that I know how… I think about it like everything else: keep it in moderation! Maybe there are some not-so-good things about this cheap, lean protein source – but then again, what is completely 100% good for you nowadays??

Leave a Reply

