Skip to content

Mom’s Recipes for Lucky Readers

March 20, 2010

Hello readers! What a fabulous day in Boston! It is in the 70’s and sunny, and my Mom and I had a great time together! My Mom does home organizing (amongst other things) and I now have the most amazingly organized closet filled with some wonderful new garments. A new haircut and a delicious brunch later, my Mom is back on the road to go home and I am missing her terribly. Don’t you hate to say goodbye when family visits?

In order to save some money last night my Mom brought some food with her that she had made at home. Some of my favorite summertime meal are what I think of as French snacky dinners: bits of pate, cheese, soup, and salad that are amazing separately and create perfect harmony on your plate. They are the perfect meals for good conversation and a warm breeze. That is exactly what my Mom brought into my kitchen last night and, along with some glasses of white wine, we spent quality time catching up and talking about one of our favorite topics: food.

I talk about my Mom a lot in this blog, often getting inspiration from meals she has made or including tips she has used over her years as a culinary master. And tonight, my dear friends, I have a real treat for you. Mom has so kindly offered to share two of her recipes with you from last night. Both are simple, extremely flavorful, and I cross my heart they would please anyone from your next door neighbor to the Queen of England.

Spicy Red Pepper Paprika Soup

1 can diced tomatoes, strained

1 onion, chopped

1 jar of roasted red peppers (or roast 2 peppers of your own)

1/2 pint chicken stock

1 chili pepper, chopped

2 tablespoons paprika

1/3 cup cream

Soften the onion in a little olive oil. Add the tomatoes, red peppers, and chicken stock. Reduce forΒ  5 minutes.

Add the chili flakes and paprika. Reduce further for 20 minutes.

Add the cream and puree the soup in a blender. Then sieve the soup to get out any tomato or pepper seeds and any unnecessary chunks.

Serve with a splash of cream or some fresh parsley.


Chicken Liver Pate

*Note: I know many people dislike chicken livers. Please take my word that you will adore this. My best childhood friend refused to eat this when we were 9, and then one day she tried it. And she fell in love. Now we are 24. Since October my Mom has made this for her at least 4 times,Β  per her personal request. It is an addiction that will last a lifetime πŸ™‚

1 onion, chopped

1 pint chicken livers (Mom encourages organic)

1 pint mushrooms, chopped

3 tablespoons white wine

2 tablespoons brandy

4 tablespoons butter

Fry the onion until soft in a little oil.

Rinse the chicken livers and add them to the onions.

Add the mushrooms and cook until the livers are cooked through.

Add the white wine, brandy, and 2 tablespoons of butter. Cook a few more minutes.

Put the mixture into a food processor and process until smooth.

Melt the last 2 tablespoons of butter.

Put the pate into a bowl. Smooth the top. Cover with the melted butter and refrigerated until the butter is set (you do not have to eat the butter on top, it is to help conserve the pate. But if you are like me, a little extra butter couldn’t hurt!)

Serve with your favorite crackers or crusty french bread.

We ate both of these things with some lettuce salad (dressed with my Mom’s white balsamic dressing, based on this recipe), some chopped tomatoes, crackers, and a local Vermont brie cheese. I couldn’t get enough!

It was so wonderful having my Mom around with me all of last night and today; we hadn’t seen each other since Christmas (far to long, Mom!). And tonight Z gets home…he has actually been away at his parents house for his spring break! I’m now off to enjoy the warmth while its still around. I keep forgetting its only March! And so many thanks to my Mom, for not only the amazing food and organizational help, but for being the most wonderful, amazing Mom ever!

What is your favorite family recipe?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 5:25 pm

    Awwwwwww, this is so sweet!! I love evenings hanging out with my mom and sister. Such a treat to get to hang out and eat with them. Her recipes look wonderful!! Thanks so much for sharing!! πŸ™‚ Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

  2. Mummy permalink
    March 20, 2010 6:53 pm

    You are the best, most darling daughter any mum could ever wish for! I am so proud to call you my own and had wonderful time with you…and yes I love to organize and am glad all your new clothes fit snuggly into the rearranged closets! Thank you for including some VERY simple, cheap recipes from little old moi…lov ya Mummy

  3. March 20, 2010 9:32 pm

    What a delightful meal! Such a sweet post – I’m glad you such a greeat visit with you mum πŸ™‚

  4. March 20, 2010 9:42 pm

    awwwww- such a sweet post! My mom has definitely inspired a lot of my cooking & healthy lifestyle decisions! That soup looks incredible

  5. March 20, 2010 10:45 pm

    Yay thank you to your mom! I love the sound and look of that chicken liver pate. I love that you served it with brie, too!

    I don’t really know any family recipes…maybe bulgogi?

  6. March 21, 2010 10:14 am

    Oh my goodness, my heart feels so warm and full right now from not only reading your darling post about your mom’s visit, but also from reading your mom’s comment. What a special relationship! It makes me yearn for my own mom and I can’t help but smile. I love love love this post so much.
    Your mother sounds so special and her recipes look fantastic- what a great idea for a meal. Just round up all the best things and eat like a tasting plate. Thanks to your lovely and caring mom for loving meals!

  7. March 21, 2010 2:46 pm

    Your pate looks awesome (gotta love mom recipes). My grandmother always made chicken liver pate for holidays, but I haven’t had a homemade version in years. I think I’m going to have to try it myself! Thank you!

  8. March 22, 2010 12:02 am

    How sweet is your mom? Love her comment. And her recipes! There is nothing better than mom’s food, right?

    I am always on the lookout for a great soup recipe, so thank you!

  9. March 22, 2010 5:57 am

    What a fun time with your mom and sister! I miss having my family around for evenings like that!

    I’m a huge split pea fan! This paprika stuff sounds amazing! Liver is like the one food I do not enjoy, but I do have an appreciation for it! : )

  10. March 22, 2010 7:16 am

    Your relationship with your mom sounds so awesome. I would only hope to have that kind of bond with my daughter when she grows up. I work on it every day πŸ™‚ Lovely soup!

  11. March 22, 2010 8:53 am

    I’ve never had chicken livers before. This is an interesting way to try them.

    You and your mom are adorable!

  12. March 22, 2010 1:38 pm

    You are so lucky to have such a great culinary inspiration! I love pate too – although in Jew world we just call it “chopped liver”!

  13. March 22, 2010 3:10 pm

    It sounds like you and your mom have such a special relationship! So sweet! And these recipes sound wonderful too!

    My favorite family recipe would definitely be my mother’s homemade gumbo…even now that I’m vegetarian and refrain from eating it, it still holds a special place in my heart!

  14. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    March 22, 2010 3:32 pm

    how wonderful that you have such a great relationship w/ your mama! her recipes sound fantastic!

  15. April 11, 2010 5:57 pm

    This is lovely and very nice photos! The soup sounds especially delicious. My mama might love the pate (though I’ve never eaten chicken livers.) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

