Skip to content

My Favorite Hors D’oeuvres

March 25, 2010

Tonight I am being a bad blogger. The Syracuse game is on!! I don’t know if many of your readers are into March Madness, but my blood has officially turned Orange. Z and I are off to see Cuse take on Butler, so I thought I would leave you with one of my favorite recipes for entertaining. With Easter coming up and families coming together, what better than to have a recipe to serve a crowd?

I love having people over. Whether it is a planned dinner party or they happen to be in the neighborhood, having guests is one of the great pleasures in my life. When my family moved to the States from England, we left behind our entire family. No more large Sunday roasts or holiday gatherings. So we made our friends our family. We have spent Christmas with our neighbors for 10 years, share Thanksgiving with my high school friend’s parents, and on the 4th of July it is us Brits who throw the big barbecue bash.

No matter how hectic life is, my Mom will never say no to having people over. And while magic is being created in pots and pans, we need something to satisfy the munchies that arise due to the amazing aromas wafting through the house. I believe my Aunt was the first person I helped make these little treats, and ever since they have become my go-to appetizer: bellinis.

No, not the champagne cocktail (though yes, we make those too!). These bellinis are tiny little pancakes, whipped up using 3 ingredients in less than 5 minutes. Just pop them in a pan, put them on a plate and, whats more, they are versatile: top them with anything you want. Our go-to for a dinner party is smoked salmon with creme fresh, topped with lemon juice and maybe come capers. But in a rush, the refrigerator is your oyster! How about a topping of creme cheese and cucumber slices? Grated cheddar and tomatoes? Some left over caponata or an olive and mushroom tapanade? The list is endless, which is why this recipe is essential for everyone to know. Because you never know when someone will show up at your door!

Two weekends ago, during the rained out St Patrick’s Day fiasco, a co-worker of mine came by for our TV marathon. I can’t have a guest go without some food! In 10 minutes I had the bellinis finished, topped with mayo, shredded corned beef, and sauerkraut. Perfect for the holiday.

Bellinis

4 oz flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mix)
1 egg
5 fl oz milk
Salt and pepper

Combine the flour, egg, and milk in a bowl, and whisk until there are no lumps. Stir in the salt and pepper.

Heat up your frying pan, and spoon the batter to make pancakes that are about 1.5 inches in diameter. (I fit 5 at a time in my frying pan). Flip them when they begin to bubble on top. Once they are brown on the other size, transfer to a wire rack. Repeat until all batter is used.

Spread the bellinis on a tray, and top with the topping of your choice!

Here are some of my Irish Bellinis:



These little pancakes disappeared in .5 seconds. There is nothing like eating an amuse bouche that is so small, yet so complete. You get a taste of everything with every bite! Their only fault is that, while you are finishing the decorating, I promise you will eat at least 3 of them, if not 5 or 7, before they actually reach your guests. Just give it a try, and don’t say I didn’t warn you πŸ™‚

What is your favorite appetizer to make?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 10:15 pm

    oh, cuse… they looked aweful 😦 and didn’t help my bracket!

    these bellinis look awesome πŸ™‚ i’m drawing a blank on appetizers at the moment, which means i need to head to bed! happy friday!

  2. March 25, 2010 10:40 pm

    Sophie, I think we might have been separated at birth and somehow you ended up in England and I in the States. Everyday I find more similarities between us. We’re kindred spirits. I love entertaining. I love the act of preparing and nourishing others- body and soul. My mom taught me the beauty of a big special dinner and the importance of good appetizers. I love these bellinis! How unique and fun they can be! And it seems like I’ll always have the right ingredients to throw them together when I have company. There are so many combinations that work well here. But I really really enjoy the shredded corned beef and sauerkraut! What a fantastic duo!
    Excellent recipe and the cutest presentation!

    • March 26, 2010 8:48 am

      I agree, we are kindred spirits πŸ™‚ So happy to find someone so similar in the blog world!

  3. March 26, 2010 4:18 am

    Oh! I wish I had seen this in time for St Patrick’s day! This would have been such a fun appetizer for a party. Must remember this idea for next year.

    • March 26, 2010 8:47 am

      They are great for any holiday with different toppings! I hope you get to try them!

  4. March 26, 2010 4:44 am

    awww cuse, i was wanting them to win bc I went to ithaca college (close by!) but ehh they didn’t do so well, huh?

    that app looks so good!

  5. March 26, 2010 7:15 am

    Great appetizer recipe– these seem so versatile!!

    I’m more used to the cocktail bellini, myself πŸ™‚

    • March 26, 2010 8:47 am

      After writing this post I definitely thought to myself “I could use a liquid bellini right now” πŸ™‚

  6. March 26, 2010 7:32 am

    I’m sorry Syracuse wasn’t able to pull it off last night 😦 But your Bellinis look fantastic!
    My favorite appetizer is usually some type of bruschetta with a cheese, vegetable, meat and then some fun twist.

  7. March 26, 2010 8:22 am

    my favourite appetizer is cheese and bread!

  8. March 26, 2010 9:34 am

    I love beverage bellinis and I would love those bellinis, too! Yum! I love entertaining, too. I’m like your mama, “Come on over…anytime!” I get a high off cooking for a group. It’s like my little challenge I post to myself — can I make something delicious that pleases a crowd AND that’s healthy?! I love buffalo chicken dip (healthy version, of course)! Yum!

    • March 26, 2010 8:05 pm

      I adore buffalo chicken! I actually think I’m mildly addicted πŸ™‚

  9. March 26, 2010 10:49 am

    Yum! I’d say my go-to versatile appetizer is any sort of mini quiche or tartlet. I have a recipe for dough that is super easy, that I can bake into little shells in a mini muffin tin with whatever kind of filling I’m in the mood for.

    I heart your smoked salmon version of these πŸ™‚

  10. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:36 am

    with an appetizer like that i think i’d fill up before dinner! YUM!

  11. March 26, 2010 11:56 am

    This look really yummy! I love Blinis (that’s how we spell it here in France!) but I never made them! I usually eat them with taramosalata, a greek dip made from fish roe. Or babaganoush. Or both! I have this fabulous greek grocer near my house that makes fabulous meze….

    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • March 26, 2010 8:05 pm

      So jealous about your Greek grocer! I love taramosalata, I grew up eating it πŸ™‚ Sounds like my type of appetizer

  12. March 26, 2010 12:03 pm

    I don’t think I have ever had a bellini before? These look really delicious.

    My favorite appetizer would probably be any of the ones in Trader Joe’s frozen section. I usually don’t have time (or the energy) to come up with an appetizer after making a meal. Trader’s has some great samosas that hit the spot!

    • March 26, 2010 8:04 pm

      AGREED! TJ’s has the best frozen stuff! In I’m in a cram thats what I go for πŸ™‚

  13. March 26, 2010 3:14 pm

    WOW! You are such a great host! I would have put out some chips or some carrot sticks and hummus. I don’t know if I’ve ever had a bellini? But your recipe sounds so good AND easy! My kind of recipe! Sorry about the game 😦 It’s March Madness in my house, too!

    • March 26, 2010 8:03 pm

      Oh March Madness! Yes, I love easy recipes for entertaining, you get to spend more time with your guests πŸ™‚

  14. March 26, 2010 4:50 pm

    Oh I’d love to come over to your place and have you be my host!! These bellinis look great!! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of them!!

Trackbacks

  1. L’angleterre hors de l’Euro, un coup montΓ© ? | Hooligan

Leave a Reply

