Skip to content

The Best Pancakes You Will Ever Have

March 27, 2010

My friend Alicia and I have had a wonderful day out in Boston. We went to the Institute of Contemporary Art and had coffee in Harvard Square. Now we are relaxing at home before a night out on the town. And this morning, we had the best breakfast ever.

In preparation for her trip, Alicia emailed me a recipe for Grilled Cheese and Chicken Sausage Waffles. They are probably the most amazing things I had ever heard of: gooey cheesy waffles with crumbles of sausage mixed into the batter. Unfortunately I don’t have a waffle iron (note to self: buy a waffle iron!) so I was determined that, by the time she arrived, I would have a pancake day version of her favorite brunch recipe.

This post could also have been titled “The Worst Pancakes For You Ever” but believe me, they are well worth the splurge.

Bacon and Cheddar Pancakes with Honey Mustard Sauce

1 serving of your favorite pancake mix (I used Gluten Free Pantry’s Pancake and Waffle mix)

1.5 cups grated cheddar cheese

6 slices of bacon

1/2 cup mustard

1/4 cup honey

Chop up the bacon into bite size pieces and fry until crispy. Dry on a paper towel.

Add to your favorite pancake mix the cheddar cheese and bacon, reserving some for topping. Make pancakes as usual.

Mix together the mustard and honey. Adjust the ratios to your liking (spicier vs. sweeter).

Top your pancakes with honey mustard and a sprinkle of cheese and bacon. Indulge.

Words cannot describe how amazing these are. The cheesy goodness oozes out of every bite, complimented by the smokey bacon. Alicia is the one who suggested honey mustard as a toppingΒ  and she was 1000% correct, it was unstoppable. In my mind, any combination of sweet and salty is absolute perfection. No matter what your diet is, or if you don’t even like pancakes (though who doesn’t!), take a morning and whip up a batch of these babies. You will be smiling for the rest of the day. And your house will smell like bacon, which is never a bad thing πŸ™‚

What is your favorite dish to splurge on?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    March 27, 2010 5:10 pm

    These pancakes might even compete with my love of classic chocolate chip pancakes!! We have to make these when you are in NYC! My favorite thing to splurge on is basically anything with cheese and bacon!

  2. March 27, 2010 7:45 pm

    Omg, these sound amazing!! I’d definitely have to have chocolate chip pancakes for dessert, haha! πŸ˜‰

  3. March 27, 2010 8:06 pm

    wow. such an intriguing combo, but one that is calling my name for breakfast tomorrow!!

  4. March 27, 2010 10:09 pm

    oh. my. goodness. This is definitely MY kind of meal. Sweet + savory with cheese AND bacon. The best holy pancakes EVER!

  5. March 28, 2010 8:23 am

    Yikes!!! This is my favorite meal you’ve made. I just literally “mmmmm”ed out loud. I can’t believe how good these look!! I just want to put a million exclamation marks in a row and post it! This is to.die.for.
    My favorite splurge is pizza. Heaven on a plate!

  6. March 28, 2010 11:01 am

    wow those pancakes sound/look amazing!!!!!

    i love splurging on chicago deep dish pizza, yum!

  7. March 28, 2010 3:25 pm

    When I first saw that picture I was like “BACON PANCAKES YESSS!” Haha they look incredible. Definitely something my husband would love too! I love to splurge on ravioli πŸ™‚

  8. March 28, 2010 4:39 pm

    oooh looks good, my bf would love these. Me, not so much into the bacon but these smell delicious I am SURE! I love to make gypsy soup with homemade wheat bread when I want to splurge, It’s the greatest filling meal ever!

  9. March 28, 2010 5:06 pm

    wow_ your pancakes look incredible.
    My favorite dish to splurge on? Bread and cheese. And I just did πŸ˜‰

  10. March 28, 2010 5:11 pm

    So glad to hear you two are having so much fun! What an interesting pancake recipe. Love the idea of making them savory vs. sweet!!

  11. March 28, 2010 6:59 pm

    You crack me up! I think every week you have the best pancakes ever, right? hehe πŸ™‚

  12. March 29, 2010 8:32 am

    I think I just found my Easter breakfast recipe πŸ˜‰

  13. March 29, 2010 10:33 am

    Glad you had such a great time with your friend! Your savory pancakes sound SO good!

  14. March 29, 2010 10:41 am

    Flounder always makes me think of Little Mermaid haha That supper looks YumMAY!

  15. March 30, 2010 9:37 am

    These sound INCREDIBLE!! I love bacon!

Leave a Reply

