Skip to content

Easter Pancakes

April 4, 2010

Hi bloggies, and Happy Easter! I’m sorry I’ve been MIA the past two days. The weather has been too beautiful here to spend any time indoors. I walked around Haymarket, Z and I played some tennis, and I spent some lovely hours with an iced coffee and a good book. This is the first real spring weekend and I have basked in all of its glory.

I love Easter because it represents the beginning of spring. At home, every holiday morning is celebrated with smoked salmon and cream cheese. I used to wake up and rush down the stairs, ready to help put some bread in the toaster and slice the salmon into a heavenly pink pile. With lemon and capers, it is a refreshing start to Thanksgiving, Christmas, and many a Mother’s Day.

On Easter last year I had just arrived in Australia to visit Z, and celebrated the day with a pot of chili. There were no Cadbury’s eggs or rack of lamb, but I was so excited to be half way around the world that I didn’t think twice about the holiday. Now, a year later, it is the second year I have not been at home for Easter. I woke up craving my family’s ritual and wanted to commemorate our tradition with a special pancake.

Lemon and Cream Cheese Pancakes with Smoked Salmon

1 batch pancake mix (I used Gluten Free Pantry)

1/2 block cream cheese, diced

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

1/2 package of smoked salmon, thinly sliced

Extra cream cheese

Make your pancake mix, and beat in the lemon juice and zest.

Add the cream cheese and gently stir in, so the cream cheese becomes the size of large cottage cheese curds. Cook as usual.

Top with extra cream cheese, smoked salmon and lemon juice.

These pancakes were incredibly light and refreshing. Salmon, cream cheese, and lemon combine in such a classic way it pleases instantaneously. There is nothing better than eating these while looking out into a blue sky. The cream cheese in the batter created little pockets of flavor, amazing little surprises to bite into. I love the salmon on top of these, mostly because you can get a little bit in each bite, but also because if you cook smoked salmon in pancakes it becomes like regular salmon. By putting the salmon delicately on top with some extra lemon juice, the flavor and smokey quality of the fish in maintained. This was a great breakfast, light yet full of protein, and is fueling us well for another tennis game this afternoon.

Tonight I am cooking a special Easter dinner for Z and a friend from work, which I will post throughout the week. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 8:06 am

    That’s a good idea, putting chunks of cream cheese in a pancake.

  2. April 5, 2010 8:57 am

    Happy Easter to you! You can never go wrong with smoked salmon and cream cheese 🙂

  3. April 5, 2010 2:03 pm

    I’ve never thought to mix these together! I bet lox would be even better. Thanks!

  4. April 5, 2010 4:48 pm

    Talk about savory pancakes! Those look and sound amazing!

  5. April 5, 2010 5:48 pm

    those sound delicious!! glad you’ve been outside, the sun has definitely had me smiling 🙂 you play tennis?!? i have been looking for someone to play with since i moved to boson! and can you believe i haven’t been to haymarket yet??

  6. April 5, 2010 9:14 pm

    YUM!! I would never have ever been creative enough to make this! I’m a huge lover of smoked salmon and cream cheese. This is so inventive and sounds particularly delicious! I also love hearing about your memories of holidays past with your family. I love hearing about your life in England. Ok, I’m just interested in your life as much as I’m interested in your food! Love your talent and passion, my dear! This recipe is sheer brilliance!

Leave a Reply

