Skip to content

Easter Appetizer: Blood Orange Salad

April 5, 2010

The glorious weather continues! Z and I are in the best moods, spending as much time as possible outside and too little time studying and cleaning our apartment. After only making it to the beach once last summer due to June and July’s constant rain, I am enjoying every bit of sunshine I can get! I started to run outside again, which is a lot more fun thanย  plodding along on a treadmill. Luckily I have Z running with me; I am a terrible pedestrian and would have been hit by numerous cars/street signs if it weren’t for him!

As I mentioned yesterday, last year was the first Easter I didn’t spend at home. I missed my family, but was half way around the world in Australia! This year, with circumstances of car-less-ness and Z’s finals coming up in a few weeks, I again didn’t get to go to my family’s home.ย  Instead, I hosted my first Easter. My coworker was also unable to go home so I invited him over (the more the merrier!) and we had a three course feast fit for kings…if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ™‚

For our starter I knew I wanted to do a salad. Spring and summer are such salad-y seasons. While in the winter I find salads drab and boring, spring produce makes a meal come alive, and I am more than happy to try new ingredients and toss together a large, colorful mix. As I was shopping at Haymarket on Saturday I saw a cart with blood oranges, gorgeous orange and purple fruits that, in my mind, surpass any other type of orange out there. I knew it would be the center of my salad.

Blood Orange and Feta Salad

1 Romain heart, finely chopped

1 blood orange

1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled

1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

Pinch of sugar

In a small bowl, mix together the vinegar, olive oil, and sugar. Whisk vigorously until combined. Toss in a large bowl with the lettuce and set aside.

Take the blood orange, peel it, and remove the skin off of the segments. Cut each segment into three pieces.

On each plate, put some lettuce and top with the orange and feta. Add a little salt and pepper and serve.

An interesting and flavorful salad is a great way to start a meal. I love a salad with layers of flavor, and here the combination of the sweet blood orange and salty feta brings taste buds to life. The blood orange was such a special treat for Easter Sunday, and we all savored every mouthful. I could have eaten this for my entire meal! But of course there was more to come, the smell of a roast wafting through the kitchen. A great appetizer, or part of any springtime meal!

What is your favorite type of orange? Mine is definitely blood orange ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 9:38 pm

    What a beautiful salad!! It looks quite tasty too!!

    Isn’t it great how this weather makes everyone so happy?! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:28 am

    i’ve never had a blood orange but they look so beautiful and juicy. your salad looks really tasty and nutritious to boot!

  3. April 6, 2010 9:37 am

    I’ve never had a blood orange. I never even heard of them until I started blogging. The salad looks wonderful!

  4. April 6, 2010 10:00 am

    I LOVE blood oranges! The first time I had one it was from a street vendor in Rome so I totally get nostalgic. I’ve been getting them in my weekly organic grocery delivery…might have to make this salad!!

  5. April 6, 2010 3:39 pm

    I have never had a blood orange either! I like regular Florida oranges, not sure if they have a more specific name. I am a bit ignorant when it comes to citrus fruits.

    Your salad looks delicious! I bet the feta and orange go together really well.

  6. April 6, 2010 3:53 pm

    I actually am not a big orange person at all, I don’t even like orange flavored things. But I just wanted to say I am reading Michael Pollan too and I think those swaps you talked about on my blog are really good- it’s better to have the real thing!

  7. April 8, 2010 6:22 pm

    Oh my goodness, as if it didn’t sound delicious enough…it is drop dead gorgeous!! What a showstopper salad. I love the pop of color, the sweetness of blood orange married to the tang of feta. You know I adore salad and every combination under the sun, but this is just exceptional. Simple, tasty, appealing to the eye! I knew you were a classy broad!

Leave a Reply

