Skip to content

Easter Dessert: Strawberry Tart

April 7, 2010

Be jealous: it is a glorious 80* here in Boston! My coworkers and I hit up Berryline frozen yogurt on our lunch break and have succumbed to the fact that many of our paycheck dollars will go here until next winter hits. But its official, spring is a’comin, and I am a happy girl for it šŸ™‚

Today I share the last of my Easter dinner: dessert. For me, deciding on a dessert is a process. Partly because I’m picky, but mostly because making a dessert is fun!Ā  You get to use a ton of ingredients and colors and flavors, and you get to decorate (aka feel like a 5th grader again). Baking is truly an art. I have been thinking for weeks about what to cook and cream and frost. Yes, I did say weeks. And by weeks I mean 5. Long. Weeks.

Week 1: I definitely want to bake something. Cupcakes! Really pretty ones.
Week 2: Maybe purple frosted cupcakes. With a filling. Raspberry filling.
Week 3: Cheesecake?
Week 4: Definitely cupcakes. The purple ones. Where do I get powdered food coloring? Ooh, macarons!
Week 5: Strawberries for a dollar! Mash strawberries to make a filling. Put the strawberries on top. Strawberry macarons?
Easter morning: Strawberry tart. Done.

Maybe I should diagnose myself with dessert add (DADD), much like my WSS. Z must be reading this and be very happy I kept my dessert cat and mouse game in my head rather than talking it out.

I accidentally decided on strawberry tart. I woke up early on Easter morning determined to browse some recipes one more time, and stumbled upon this Rustic Strawberry Tart recipe. It was unique (no pie tin!), simple (I had all of the ingredients!), healthful (no heavy cream and minimal sugar!), and delicious (omg those pictures look goooood!). I am obviously one of those people that can be swayed to a different decision at the last minute. I would never make it on Survivor.

Rustic Strawberry Tart (Adapted from Cooking Light via Kitchen Sink Recipesserves 2)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free mix)

1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (none if you use regular flour)

Pinch of salt

2 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces

1 and 3/4 tablespoons ice water

1 cup sliced strawberries

1/8 cup sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon white balsamic vinegar

1/4 teaspoon corn starch

1 egg white, lightly beaten

1/2 tablespoon raw sugar

To prepare crust combine flour and teaspoon salt in a medium bowl; cut in butter with 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add ice water; stir just until moist. Turn dough out onto a heavily floured surface; knead lightly 5 times. Place dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap; roll, still covered, into an 8-inch circle. Chill 20 to 30 minutes (until the plastic wrap peels easily away from the dough).

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the berries, sugar, lemon juice, vinegar, corn starch and salt. Stir to combine.

Preheat oven to 350Ā°. Uncover dough; place dough circle on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Arrange the strawberries in a pinwheel pattern in the dough circle, starting in the middle and forming concentric circles of strawberries, leaving a 2-inch border.

Fold up the edges of the dough over the berries, crimping to seal. Lightly brush the pastry with the beaten egg white. Sprinkle with the raw sugar.

Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

This dessert was delicious, and so easy to make! The strawberries caramelized with the sugar to the consistency of an apple pie. The addition of balsamic vinegar is key; if you have never had balsamic and strawberries I highly recommend you go and try it, now. You will never eat strawberries by themselves again! The dough was a bit crisp, making it easy to pick up a slice of the tart and eat it like a pizza if you wished, but I think that is because I added too much xanthan gum. The ice cream was an amazing addition, and next time I make this I may even do a layer of custard under the strawberries for a sweet and creamy surprise. But this tart, as simple as it is, was the perfect ending to a spring meal: fresh, healthful, and easy enough to make for a week night treat.

What is your favorite way to eat strawberries?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 9:21 pm

    That looks so delicious and very pretty!! šŸ™‚

  2. April 8, 2010 5:55 am

    Don’t worry about the DADD – I’m exactly the same way. Actually I’ve just got FADD because I can never decide on ~anything~.

    I love to eat strawberries fresh with a little bit of freshly whipped cream. Nothing beats the contrast ā¤ I used to really love strawberry shortcake, but it's not worth the pain to eat something with gluten now. Amazing though, and your tart looks just as good!

  3. April 8, 2010 7:44 am

    I’ve never had WHITE balsamic vinegar before. Is it a lot different from the regular stuff?

  4. April 8, 2010 10:17 am

    Oh my god. I need this in my life!!!

  5. April 8, 2010 1:31 pm

    Hee, I love strawberries, and did you know it’s a record low price this season? Enjoy them while you can! I love them best as a cream cheese and strawberry grilled sandwich! Please try that sometime! šŸ˜€

  6. April 8, 2010 3:05 pm

    It is SO pretty! What a great Easter dessert

  7. April 8, 2010 3:37 pm

    Haha, loved the recap of how you chose this recipe.

    I loooove any dessert with strawberries!

  8. April 8, 2010 6:29 pm

    Haha, DADD!! Is there a support group for that? Because I definitely have the same condition. It’s hilarious to think about how much I obsess over what I’ll make!

    This is so refreshing, simple, and delicious! Truly a perfect springtime dessert. I’m loving how healthy it is too!

  9. April 8, 2010 8:09 pm

    What a cool take on a tart! Never seen one like this…not that I’m a tart expert. I love the ingredient list, though. It’s really not so sinful. Well, until you add the VERY NECESSARY ice cream, though. That’s my favorite dessert: warm cake/pie/brownie a la mode. šŸ™‚

  10. April 8, 2010 9:14 pm

    I love strawberries with balsamic too, and recently learned how good they are on a vanilla bean panna cotta. yum šŸ™‚ glad the gluten free tart dough worked out for you!

  11. April 8, 2010 11:34 pm

    Mmm, fantastic dessert, certainly gets me ready for this awesome weather that might be leaving us for a bit… šŸ˜¦

Trackbacks

  1. Making Coffee :The Longtail Coffee Store
  2. Love Your Leftovers: Pesto and White Bean Tart « Yumventures
  3. What’s In Season: July « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

