Skip to content

Stuffed Burgers

April 13, 2010

I have some exciting news — today I officially registered for classes! A few weeks ago I was admitted to business school and, starting in September, I will be perusing my MBA part-time! This will be a big life change, not only moving towards a new and brighter career, but I also haven’t been in a classroom since 2007. It’s scary to think about starting again, especially while continuing to work full time, but I am excited about where this could lead me.  After taking the GMAT and no longer studying ridiculous amounts of math I was able to start Yumventures and begin to let some creativity flow. I am planning some exciting changes here once classes roll around, but until then, there is a whole summer of yum to come!

After last week’s great burger debate, I was in the mood for, well, burgers! I have to admit, I am a bit of a burger snob. At home in Connecticut there used to be a small, gourmet store in our town with a meat counter, where many wealthy people with summer homes would buy the finest cuts of Filet Mignon. For those of us who couldn’t quite afford the 1 pound steaks, the butcher would grind up the discarded pieces into hamburger meat. Oh holy yum, were those Filet Mignon burgers delicious! We would only add a little Worcestershire sauce and throw them on the grill. I probably would have eaten them raw had I been allowed.

Nowadays that gourmet shop is closed, and my Mom has essentially stopped making burgers since none live up to what we used to have. Though I cannot replicate the taste of an amazing cut of meat, I have made it my personal mission to create burgers that are not your usual “two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.” With summer just around the corner I have begun making lists of what I could possibly throw into and on top of a burger to make it burst with flavor and moisture. Tonight was a special attempt, accompanied by a home made bun for the special occasion (recipe which I will post tomorrow).

As a side note, I used the “egg and breadcrumb” binding method; it worked very well indeed!

Mushroom and Swiss Stuffed Turkey Burgers (makes 6)

For the Filling:

1/2 lb mushrooms

1/2 small onion

1 clove garlic

1/2 tablespoon oregano

1/2 tablespoon basil

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Salt and pepper

1/4 cup swiss cheese

For the Burger:

1 lb ground turkey

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I put a slice of GF bread in the food processor)

1 egg

1/2 tablespoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon oregano

Salt and pepper

In a food processor, put the onion, garlic, and mushrooms and pulse 3-4 times until finely chopped.

Put in a Pam sprayed frying pan and add all of the seasonings except for the cheese and cook until the liquid has boiled off, about 5 – 7 minutes. Set aside and let cool.

Mix together all of the burger ingredients and separate into 6 equal sections. Then divide each section in half.

Flatten 6 of the halves into thin patties the size of the burger you would like. In the middle, add one tablespoon of the mushroom mixture and 1/6 of the cheese. Make sure the fillings don’t go all the way to the edge of the pattie, but leave about 1/4 to 1/2 inch of space around it.

Flatten the other 6 of the halves and place one on top of each of the patties with fillings. Gently press around the filling so there are no air bubbles, then seal the edges so they combine.

Fry the burgers in a frying pan for 5 – 6 minutes each side, or until there is no pink left in the meat. Be careful when flipping if the two sides seem to be coming apart, but if you sealed the edges correctly you shouldn’t have a problem.

Serve with a bun, ketchup, lettuce and tomato. I also included carrot fries for a healthy side dish.

A turkey burger can be a tricky thing and dry out easily, but with the egg-breadcrumb binding, the moist mushrooms and the melty cheese, these just burst with flavor. I love how you can see the pockets of stuffing in the pictures, just waiting to ooze out. While talk about cheese and decadence can normally mean “unhealthy”, these guys are filled with good protein and hardly any fat, since such a little amount of cheese and lean ground turkey is used.  The carrot fries paired extremely well, as they always do with any meal 🙂 Along with some amazing buns, these will definitely appear on any summer barbecue menu I may have. I think they are the next best thing to Filet Mignon. I may have just become a turkey burger convert.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 7:35 am

    I like making stuffed burgers because when the cheese starts oozing out a bit I know they’re cooked.

  2. April 14, 2010 8:19 am

    Looks great. There is a technique to use your food processor to grind up sirloin/rib meat into great tasting burgers. I going to give it a try in the next few weeks, depending upon the weather, and will le tyou know the results.

  3. April 14, 2010 9:11 am

    Looks so decadent and delicious. I just love the idea of adding the swiss into the burger as well as the egg and bread crumbs so that it retains its moisture!! Your filet burgers of youth sound absolutely to die for. The quality of beef is so key to burger satisfaction! I’m delighted to use turkey though. I started using it relatively recently and I do love that meaty, poultry taste! And I’m like you, I love to add basil and oregano to burgers to give them that depth of flavor!

    I also can’t believe you made your own buns! How homemade and gourmet of you! I bet the freshness and tender crumb really made the meal. I can’t wait for the recipe!!

  4. April 14, 2010 9:24 am

    Oh! And congrats about grad school, my love!! So happy for you and can’t wait to follow you along!

  5. April 14, 2010 10:18 am

    Can’t wait to hear more about those buns! I love burgers too – they are so just so versatile, I love coming up with new flavor combinations. Congrats again on starting grad school!

  6. April 14, 2010 10:55 am

    I love making stuffed burgers for J! I put artichokes & cheese in his. Great job- the rolls look pretty jammin too. Congrats on signing up for classes. What an awesome new adventure 🙂

  7. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    April 14, 2010 12:43 pm

    congrats on heading back to school!! can’t wait to hear how it goes. 🙂

  8. April 14, 2010 2:07 pm

    Congrats about grad school. Very exciting!

  9. April 14, 2010 4:13 pm

    So excited for you starting grad school! I am not a good student so I am always in awe of people who enjoy school.

    I am loving your burgers and I don’t eat meat! Home made buns too? I am very impressed!!

  10. April 14, 2010 5:10 pm

    I love stuffed burgers. I like using mushrooms and laughing cow cheese. 🙂

  11. April 14, 2010 10:23 pm

    Mmm, I love turkey burgers and this one is really over the top with that yummy stuffing! And congrats on b-school – how exciting!!

Leave a Reply

