Skip to content

Homemade Hamburger Buns (and kitchen tools)

April 14, 2010

Thank you all for your kind words about business school! It will be an exciting new adventure πŸ™‚ But for now I’m going to enjoy the spring and summer as much as I can before its time to go school supply shopping in the fall (yay!)

I love talking about being gluten free and educating people about what gluten is, where you find it, and why some people cannot eat it. When I first tell someone they often look at me in horror. “You can’t eat what?! No pizza, no doughnuts, no spaghetti?” I look at them and say “It’s not that bad.” Because really, its not. If you have learned anything from Yumventures, I hope it is that gluten free meals don’t have to be “special diet food”; anything I make here can be (and is) thoroughly enjoyed by people of the gluten-tolerant variety.

However, there is one time when it is bad. And that is the summer: burger season. Besides corn on the cob, burgers are my favorite summer food. But ever since I was diagnosed as gluten intolerant, my favorite grilled masterpiece has been put on the back burner. Why, you ask? I hate having to order a burger without the bun. First, people think you are eating low carb (very 1990s) and I always get strange looks that I am “on a diet”. If I had it my way, I would just order the bun sometimes! And second, a burger just isn’t a burger without a bun. Picking up a hamburger that is overflowing with toppings and too big to even fit in your mouth is what the burger experience is all about. Eating it with my knife and fork is not. And I don’t think anyone would appreciate me picking up a greasy pattie with my hands.

Four years after going gluten free, last night I made the decision to finally, finally, make my own hamburger buns. I hunted for a recipe that would be quick and easy for a weeknight meal (ie no rising yeast!). This recipe from Fitness and Freebies not only met that requirement, but I already had all of the ingredients in my kitchen. Hooray! This was the fastest, simplest baked good recipe out there, and amazing fresh out of the oven with my stuffed turkey burgers.

Gluten Free Hamburger Buns (adapted from FitnessandFreebees.com, makes 6 buns)

3/4 cup of gluten free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill mix)

1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum (for non-gluten free, use regular flour and nix the xanthan)

3/4 cup corn starch

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon sugar

2 eggs

1/3 cup oil

1/2 cup milk

Sesame seeds for topping

Preheat oven to 400*

Mix together all of the dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients.

Spray a cookie sheet and muffin rings with Pam and set rings on the tray.

*Here is where my creativity came in. Muffin rings? Not only had I never heard of these, but I searched high and low in my neighborhood to find them and no one else knew what they were either! So, after doing a little online research, I discovered that you can make your own muffin rings, which are just metal rings about 3.5 inches in diameter. What is metal and makes a perfect 3.5 inch circle? Tin foil.

To Make Muffin Rings

Take 6 pieces of tin foil, about 3 – 4 inches wide, and fold lengthwise so it creates a strip about 1.5 inches tall. Insert one end of the foil into the opening of the other and fold over to secure. Gently shape into a circle.

Muffin rings: done.

They may not be perfect, but they work like a charm! So back to the recipe…

Mix the wet and dry ingredients together and whisk until there are no lumps left. The batter will thicken quickly, so its good to whip fast!

Put 2 large spoonfuls of batter into each prepared muffin ring and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Make sure the rings are pressed to the baking sheet so the batter doesn’t ooze out. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, or until theΒ  tops are golden brown.

Remove and let cool. The rings should come off of the buns easily. Cut in half and add your favorite burger!

Z laughed at how excited I was when these were in the oven. They slowly started to expand and take shape, and then gradually developed a luxurious golden brown color on their tops. I had not eaten a hamburger bun in 4 years. And these were just as good as I remembered, if not better. The store bough kind should be ashamed! For how simple this recipe was, these buns are light and fluffy, and warm out of the oven beats toasted any day. They really fluffed up, even without the yeast! It only took 5 minutes to throw together the batter, so even on a weeknight the recipe was hassle-less, much less so than the stuffed turkey burgers! Plus my makeshift muffin rings worked like a dream, which may mean homemade English muffins, crumpets, and mini cheesecakes may be in my future.

Have you ever baked bread? What is your favorite type to make?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 8:37 pm

    These look wonderful!! Usually Andrew and I just go bunless when eating burgers and sloppy joes, but these buns would be fabulous!! Thanks so much for this recipe!! πŸ™‚

  2. Lauren permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:46 pm

    Wow! Sophie, I am so impressed! I have never thought about making my own hamburger buns, but these look so easy that I may have to try it.

  3. April 14, 2010 10:24 pm

    They really look perfect, I’m very impressed! And I’m so with you on having to have a bun with a burger!

  4. April 15, 2010 7:29 am

    I love bread recipes!

  5. April 15, 2010 7:56 am

    Glad you had great success with the homemade buns!! They look great πŸ™‚

  6. April 15, 2010 9:56 am

    Yay! so glad you found a better burger bun! For what it’s worth, coming from someone who can eat gluten, I agree that it wouldn’t be that bad not to. I feel like a lot of the meals I make are gluten free naturally, since I don’t eat a lot of bread or pasta.

  7. April 15, 2010 1:08 pm

    Love that they’re gluten free! And they do have a nice shape. I’m not big on breads.. but I’m tempted to try a sprouted gluten-free type!

  8. April 15, 2010 3:24 pm

    These are beautiful…AND, congrats on the decision to go back to school!! Very exciting!

  9. April 15, 2010 5:26 pm

    i didn’t make it over in time, but congrats on business school!! very exciting πŸ™‚ and yes, burgers need buns πŸ˜‰ these look fabulous, and guess what i want for dinner now? πŸ™‚

  10. July 3, 2010 8:16 pm

    Beautiful burger buns! I will definitely be trying these!

Trackbacks

  1. High Protein Diet for Weight Loss | Foods to Lose Weight
  2. Tapenade Turkey Burgers « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

